Shopping madness in Bangkok and good bye thailand...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 16th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have spent my two last days in Thailand in Bangkok. Bangkok is a weird city, big, hot, polluted and smelly. However, it has certain charm in some way (I am actually trying to find out in which way). Apart from seeing incredible temples, tasting delicious food from the street vendors (not sure what it was half of the times), and meeting people from all over the world just having a beer in Khao san road, the only thing bangkok is worth a visit is for.. shopping!

--------------

He pasado mis dos ultimos dias en Tailandia en Bangkok. Bangkok es una ciudad extranya, grande, calurosa, con polucion y maloliente. Sin embrago, tiene un encanto de algun modo (aun estoy intentando saber en que modo). Aparte de ver templos increibles, saborear deliciosa comida de los vendedores de la calle (no sabia que era la mitad de las veces) y conocer a gente de todo el mundo simplemente tomando una cerveza en kaho san road, la unica cosa por la que bangkok merece uhna visita son... las compras!

--------------------------

If you are reading this blog, you know me, and if you know me, you know that I like shopping. Cant deny it at this point. Well, I devoted yesterday to sightseeing and today to shopping. In the Siam neighborhood. Here can buy practically everything, and for all price ranges. From the cheap promotional tshirts in the phraturat market to the super luxurious designer staff in the super luxurious malls. It is quite impressive, so busy and so big, with the sky train and all these thai trendy teenagers walking arround, it really is how you imagine a big asian city beign european. I cant think how other busiest cities like tokyo or hong kong may be like...

--------------------

Si estas leyendo este blog, es que me conoces, y si me conoces, sabes que me gusta ir de compras. No lo puedo negar llegados a este punto. Bueno, pues dedique ayer el dia a las visitas turisticas y hoy a las compras. En la zona de Siam. Aqui puedes comprar practicamente de todo, y por todo tipo de precios. Desde las camisetas promocionales en el mercado de phraturat hasta las cosas super lujosas de disenyadires en los lujosos centros comerciales. Es bastante impresionante, tan grande y tan dinamica, con el skytrain y todos los quinceanyeros thais de lo mas trendy andando por ahi, es realmente como te imaginas una gran ciudad asiatica siendo europeo. no quiero ni imaginar como seran otras ciudades mas stressantes como tokyo o hong kong...

----------------------------------


I am actually heading to the airport in 5 hours...I cannot possibly describe how sad I am to leave this country and to finish this trip. It has been one of the greatest things I have done so far. It just has confirmed that I want todo this again, alone or with someone else, but I want to come back to thailand and hopefully southeast asia. I will not forget the sunset in koh phi phi from the boat, running along sairee beach in the morning, sharing coconut shakes and 30 year old crisis with Leah, rafting in Chiang Mai with the Ducth people... too many unforgettable moments.

---------------------------

De hecho me voy al aeropuerto en 5 horas... No soy capaz de describir cuan triste estoy de partir de este pais y acabar este viaje. ha sido sin duda una de las mas grandes cosas que he hecho hasta ahora. Y simplemente ha confirmado que quiero volver a hacer esto, sola o con alguien mas, pero quiero volver a tailandia y ojala a todo el sudeste asiatico. No olvidare la puesta de sol en koh phi phi desde el barco, correr por la manyana a lo largo de sairee beach, compartir batidos de coco y crisis de los 30 con Leah, hacer rafting en Chiang Mau con los holandeses... demasiados momentos inolvidables

-------------------------------

The end of my trip should also mean the end of this blog, which actually I am going to miss a lot too!! It has been actually quite nice to sit down often and write a diary of this trip to share with you. Thanks to all for your nice messages and comments, which I apologise for not having responded to all, but you know that you were accompanying me during this trip in my thoughts! I will let you know once I am in cold amsterdam, back to my appartment where I see the cloudy Dutch sky every morning...(oh dear, the sole thought of leaving my summer dresses and flip flops behind just makes me wanna cry already!!!). However, not for long, coz sunny Madrid is waiting for me and a new chapter of my life too!!

------------------------------

El fin de este viaje deberia tambien significar el fin de este blog, que voy a echar de menos un monton tambien!! Ha sido de hecho muy chulo poder sentarme a menudo a escribir este diario que compartir con vosotros. Muchas gracias por vuestros mensajes y comentarios, y pido perdon por no haber podido contestar a todos, pero sabeis que me habeis acompanyado durante este viaje en mi pensamiento!! Os hare saber cuando este en el frio amsterdam, de vuelta a mi apartamento donde puedo ver cuando me levanto el nublado cielo holandes cada manyana... (oh cielos, el solo pensamiento de dejar atras los vestidos veraniegos y las sandalias me hace querer llorar ya!!). Sin embargo, no por mucho tiempo, porque el soleado Madrid esta esperandome y un nuevo capitulo de mi vida!!

--------------------------------






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb