Kathmandu to Pokhara


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
August 2nd 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

KathmanduKathmanduKathmandu

Crazy mask
Gez's last night so we went out a few drinks, me a few too many cause i felt pretty bad in the morning. Got up early though on the day of Gez's plane back to England and met up with my friend Tom I met in India who had arrived and did a little bit of shopping. Picked up about 300 developed photos of our journey together so far cause they are only about 6 pence per photo, a few crazy masks from this awesome shop that was full to the brim with hundreds of masks stacked up on each other. I waved good bye to Gez and me and Tom met with some crazy German guys called Heinzer and Christian for dinner.

I said my goodbyes and the next day I got up early for a 6am bus to Pokhara!

Strolled around the lovely town by this monsterous lake and went for dinner. Met these crazy bunch of Chinese people and went back with them for some drinks at their hotel. It became rather late and I had to be back at my hotel before they closed the gates at midnight. The rain was pooring down and it
KathmanduKathmanduKathmandu

Masks, masks and more masks
wouldn't stop so I had take on the monsoon. One of the Chinese girls felt sorry for me so she gave me her bright blue poncho style rain jacket as a present cause I forgot mine. I said thankyou but didn't really want to where it because I looked like a rather tall gangly fello wearing a little girls brightly coolered anorak. I left, and along the way stopped for a wizz. So had to jump over a fast flowing stream of water that was on either side of the road parrallel to the path and find a nice spot in the corner. However when I finished and walked back it was very dark. What I thought was the stream of water was infact the pavement and the road where I wanted to land infact the stream of fast flowing water, so I jumped couragiously into it, loosing one of my flip flops in the process. So here I am in the middle of the road wearing a little girls brightly coloured raincoat that is incredibly small for me, hopping down the street after my flip flop that is being washed away.

Never got that bloody flip flop back
PokharaPokharaPokhara

The boat and rower bailing out the water.
either so had to make it back with one leg.

The next day I rented a boat and a rower to transport me across the lake and I strolled up a steep hill to the World Peace Pagoda, a large white Stupa at the top of a mountain, which revealed some mighty fine views.

Tommorow I'm going to Bandipur a couple of hours away, which was recommended so lets hope it good.

Bye


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

PokharaPokhara
Pokhara

The view from the World Peace Pagoda at the top of the mountain.
PokharaPokhara
Pokhara

The World Peace Pagoda


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb