Adventure Sports


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
July 30th 2006
Published: July 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mountain bikingMountain bikingMountain biking

At the top of the mountain, arriving at our hotel 5 hours after we started the ascent.
Got a bus to our rendevous point to meet our instructor and boat. Wasn't too impressed when we saw the boat, it was patched up with 20 odd patches all with old flaking glue over it. they attepted to blow up the boat and it deflated imediately. So we called for the backup, which was even older but didn't deflate as quickely, which was a good sign. We brought the pump with us so we could pump it up every hour and off we went.

Rafting for a day in Nepal was awesome, the river was high because of the monsoon rain so the current was much harder and difficult, but with the combination of two English fellos, three Chinese, three Koreans and our Nepalese instructor we powered through and came out alive and well. No one fell in apart from two Chinese girls who were lazy so the instructer pushed them overboard for a laugh.

The next day we headed for the sky on our mountain bike for two days and one night with our guide Manos, who I kept called Manuel for two days. If we realised how hard it would be we probably wouldn't have paid
RaftingRaftingRafting

Our rafting team and instructer with the red helmet.
the 40 quid each for the two days to kill ourselves.

The second half of the day was uphill constantly for 20km, at one point we though of putting the bikes on top of a taxi, taking it to the top and waving to our guide as we drove passed him. When we finally got to our hotel, I could bairly walk down the stairs, I got into our room didn't realise there was a small step in front of me stacked it good and proper and nearly knocked myself out on the corner of the bed in front of me. Maybe I could have stopped myself from falling but I was so shattered I thought, bugger it so I closed my eyes and hoped for the best, missed the bed by a few inches and needed half an hour to get back up again. The guy that showed me to the room said, 'Oh my god sir are you okay'. I just had enough energy to be able to speak and said 'yeah, I'll be fine here for a while'.

Down hill all day the next day which was so good, no more bloody hill climbs.

Its Gerrald's last night tonight, were meeting up with our guide Manos , I'm still gonna call him Manuel cause it sounds better, and we gonna get pretty drunk, so fair well my friends. Hope everythings good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mountain BikingMountain Biking
Mountain Biking

The view at the top of the mountain we ascended on the balcony of our hotel before we got engulfed by clouds.
RaftingRafting
Rafting

Our crew and Gerrald, top right, looking for his t-shirt that has been washed away by the river.
Mountain BikingMountain Biking
Mountain Biking

Gerrald looking like he wants to give up, but the mountain will not defeat him!
Mountain TrekMountain Trek
Mountain Trek

On the way
Mountain TrekMountain Trek
Mountain Trek

On the way


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb