Bandipur?


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Patan
August 4th 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Got up early having suffered form a fever all night going through hot sweats and cold chills, still wasn't feeling good. Got to the Bus Station and asked for Bandipur, about a three hour journey away from Pokhara.

Two and a bit hours on after our first stop I asked the driver how long to Bandipur, 20 minitues he said. 40 minutes later I asked if we were near Bandipur, 'yes yes, Baktapur, Kathmandu', he said, 'no', I said 'Bandipur, not Kathmandu', I showed him on a map, he replyed 'yes yes mid way point'. 'How long', I said, '1 hour', he replyed. An hour and a half passed and I had a feeling the idiot of a driver had gone passed it. I asked again about Bandipur and pointed to a map which is something I think this guy had never seen before, the driver's answer was 'yes Baktapur', I said 'no Bandipur, B-A-N-D-I-P-U-R'. 'Yes', he said and carried on driving. I realised there was no way I could communicate with this moron so I accepted my fate that I was going back to Kathmandu. I was right, we arrived in Kathmandu 5 hours after the bus left Pokhara.

Had another awful night of sweats and chills. Got out of bed feeling incredibly weak, had a shower and got ready to get my Visa for Myanmar at the Embassy in Patan 2km away. Sweat was still dripping of my face and my t-shirt was soaked with sweat, but I got some porridge down me and a Masala Tea and I started to feel a bit better.

My route is now reversed now I have come back to Kathmandu by mistake so my next stop is Daman, 2322m above sea level where you can see most of Nepal's Himalayan mountains including Everest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb