Tibetan Clinic


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
November 1st 2011
Published: November 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I headed out to Dun-sel, a Tibetan clinic in Tushi Palkhiel settlement.

As soon as we arrived we were greeted warmly with tea. Again, there was a range of reasons why some people presented, although mostly they wanted their weekly medications.

All the children I have seen have been so cute with their big brown eyes and their tikka dots on the foreheads. One little girl was fascinated with all the people that had come to visit her town.

When we had finished at the clinic we visited a Tibetan refugee monastery. It was so peaceful with images of Buddha and the burning of incense.

I finally purchased a Nepalese SIM card. I'm pretty sure my identity is going to be stolen as I had to provide a copy of my passport, photos and FINGER PRINTS!?

On our arrival back to Manipal I ate in the hospital cafeteria. Samosas and Tibetan Mo Mos for $2AU, not bad for hospital food! One of the ED residents had read my CV and was so excited that I was trained in Radiology that she was head wobbling all over the place. No, yes?

My camera was malfunctioning today, right at an opportune moment but luckily a German medical student had an SLR camera (slightly better than mine) so i pilfered that for a few shots around the ED.

Enjoy!




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Tibetan clinicTibetan clinic
Tibetan clinic

We were greeted by lovely Tibetan ladies with fresh tea
PowerPower
Power

Pokhara experiences about three black outs per day. The energy comes from hydroelectric plants during monsoon but when it is dry the country sources a lot of electricity from India
LunchLunch
Lunch

Lunch at the hospital is great. Curry, samosas, Tibetan Mo Mos etc


3rd November 2011

Great photos!
Love the photos, that little girl is gorgeous x

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb