tall Carmel Macchiato with Yak milk please


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Started by day by going to Himalayan java as recommended by Yalamber, he promised their was good coffee there. In a town where 50 percent of the restaurants and hotels serve nescafe (that instant coffee stuff), I didn't get my hopes up. I was happy to find out that Yalamber did not lie! First of all the place is posh, leather furniture, tile floors. And the coffee is great, I dare to say as good (if not better) than its far west rival! Plus they have them beat on prices 50 rupees for a cup of coffee (about 85 cents!)

Besides getting hopped up on Nepali coffee, I also visited the Kathmandu region of Patan. After wandering around with my guide book for 5 minutes, I decided I was better off to pay the 4 bucks for a guide and let them to the work. I luckily picked a good guide, Raj, who knew everything about the city. I saw where the king and queen used to live (circa 16th century), the bell the used to ring to call town meetings (so THAT'S what they did before cell phones), the hindu and bhuddist temples.

We then went over to the smaller towns of Bugmati and Kokana. There we saw women making rugs (by hand of course), as well as some women spinning the yarn to make the rugs. they were also growing rice and chilis in this village.

Advertisement



3rd September 2007

Glad to see you had you caffenine fix -- looks great. That's for taking us there with you.
3rd September 2007

yum
Mmmm yak milk! One up on Starbucks.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb