More Kathmandu adventures


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
September 5th 2007
Published: September 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thought I would sum up my last few days here, as I am falling behind on my blogging. Had to spend one day shopping the streets of Kathmandu. It makes you feel rich to take out 1,000s (even if it is in rupees) and go looking around. Found a few new "needed" items to help fill up the next house.

Went to a Bhuddist Monestary, really gorgeous architecture everywhere and all the monk were in gold and maroon dress. Got to hear them do some chanting (but hey, there monks, I'm sure this goes on at many times during the day) and walk around the grounds.

Went to Monkey Temple. The monkey's are risking losing the place though and it being renamed dog temple. But they all seemed to get along well together. I did the 350 step climb to the top of the temple, where I got to see more monks, monkeys and dogs.

I am feeling now like I got to see a great deal of Kathmandu and Nepal, revisiting some old places to gain a greater understanding of them (and the people) and got to see some new places too. Looking forward to seeing some of the comforts of home, but will also miss my Nepali "family". I actually introduced Sujata to e-mail, so we will see how it goes. I promised to keep in touch my either mail or email and also am taking their request to send pictures of my dogs and also the washing machine.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb