George Town (Penang) - Day 11


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
September 14th 2010
Published: September 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

12th September 2010
So today I was feeling much better. We got up for breakfast and then went to find the Kek Lok Si Temple which was about 30 minutes out of town. It was gigantic!! There were lots of statues including the Pagoda of 10 Thousand Buddha’s. We got the cable lift right up to the top of the temple where we could see the giant bronzed statue and also had a great view of the whole town. We walk all the way down and grabbed a taxi to take us the Penang Hill - however train up to the top was under construction and you can’t actually walk up it so we gave it a miss. By this time my camera had run out of battery anyways.
We got back to the hostel and this is when I realised my passport weren’t in any of my bags!! We turned the whole room upside down and it was nowhere to be seen. Tony called all of the hostels we had been at since Malaysia but no one had come across it. All we could do is report it stolen to the police and get a report. We contacted the emergency helpline but they couldn’t do anything as it was a public holiday so my best bet was to go back to Kuala Lumpur where they have a British Embassy and try getting a temporary passport. I booked an overnight bus to take me back to KL but that didn’t go until midnight, in the mean time i just had to keep busy.
We got a bus to the north of George Town and visited the night markets. On the way back the bus pulled into a petrol station whilst everyone was on bored - it not really something you would see every day!
I packed up my bags, said goodbye to the group and got a taxi to the bus station.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb