Day 63: Shibuya Again


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 15th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=_yY3A0EAVWQ][youtube=TFBl_xvGyEs][youtube=2FDJUDVKc-o]
Violin PlayViolin PlayViolin Play

There's videos of this
Day 63: Shibuya Again
Friday, May 15, 2009


7:00am: I woke up, got ready, and ate breakfast (egg, slice of bread with cream cheese and peanut butter, and salad)

7:45am: I walked to Zoshiki station. The weather was chilly.

9:00am: I made it to class.

9:15am: We took a kanji quiz. Then, we learned potential forms, like “Can you do this?”

10:45am: Class ended. Eileen and Christie visit me! I felt very happy because I know Eileen cares about me. She’s so cool!

11:00am: Japanese class started again. We learned how to ask for lost things. Then, we reviewed kanji.

12:30pm: Class ended. Candy, Lars, Frank, and I got our lunches at the cafeteria. I had a daily lunch, tofu with meat and spicy stuff on it (like what my mom makes), rice, and miso soup. It was okay. We went to the GL-Net Lunch area. Candy and I meet a Japanese female. She was nice.

2:00pm: Candy and I left and split. I signed my course registration form at the CIEE office. I was a confused why people were confused. Lots of people still hadn’t seen my hair like this. Oh. I went to the bathroom to put on make-up because Candy and I were going to the club tonight.

2:30pm: Jon calls and talk to him in the bathroom. My class was cancelled and I had nothing to do. So, I walked to the bookstore, and walked back and forth in the campus.

3:15pm: I was in my history class. I went to sleep in the class. I’m mad that I had to register 2 useless classes. I’m wasting my time here.

4:45pm: Class ended. John Lee and I started talking. He had nothing to do either. So, we went to the computer lab and talked. I’m glad I made another friend.

5:45pm: John and I go to Shibuya, where he meets his friends.

6:15pm: I split from John and his friends. I walked around Shibuya by myself. Then, I put my book bag in the Shibuya station locker. I sat near the Hachiko statue.

7:15pm: My Japanese friend, Tatsuhiro who I now call Tatsu (I had mistaken his name to be Tatsushiro), finds me. He had 2 friends with him, Mayo and Yuu. They have longer names but friends shorten their names and I’m their friend now. Mayo speaks English impressively well. I mostly talked to him. We went to Denny’s and I ordered a steak. Mayo and Tatsu helped me read the menu.

8:30pm: I realized I had a text from Satoshi saying he’s at Shibuya. Tatsu, Mayo, Yuu, and I left Denny’s. Yuu was very quiet, so I found it funny when he really struggled to speak 1 English sentence. He wanted to say “Let’s hang out.” But he says, “Let’s play?” And Tatsu tells him that in English…um…that sounds weird.

8:45pm: Satoshi was at the Hachiko statue. But then, he needed to leave. Oh.

9:00pm: Candy comes. Her Japanese is very impressive! And our level is pretty much the same! I like her. Yuu and Mayo goes home. Candy, Tatsu, and I go to a café.

10:00pm: Candy, Tatsu, and I go to a burger place. Tatsu orders a coke, so we didn’t look rude sitting at a restaurant without an order. Tatsu was nice for doing that. Candy and I taught him some Western manners. We told him about letting ladies go first, letting a lady sit, and how to propose to a girlfriend. Tatsu was very surprised that guys in America actually get on their knee to their girlfriend to ask for marriage.

11:00pm: When we left, Tatsu runs to the door to “open” it for Candy and me. The door was….automatic. So he decides to go through and stand sideways to “keep the doors open” for ladies. It was HILARIOUS! *best moment in Japan

11:30pm: We make it to Vuenos. Tatsu is a DJ, so he has DJ friends. So, instead of paying $30 to get in the club, Candy and I paid $10 to get in Vuenos! I think I’m special for knowing Tatsu. I was EXTREMELY happy. Then, Candy and I meet Tatsu’s DJ friend, Mitsu? Then, we walked around the club that was pretty empty… and then waited for the party to begin.

Heh heh heh… I know people. I never knew that I could ever say that… I’m lucky.

Note: Times are approximate.
If you want a postcard/letter from me, please send me your address in a private message.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Archery UniformArchery Uniform
Archery Uniform

This is my classmate, Gary. He's embarressed that he's wearing this...
New FriendsNew Friends
New Friends

Mayo, Yuu This was taken from my cellphone...the quality isn't good.


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb