My first Japanese purikura!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Fukuoka » Fukuoka
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

School was all fun and games last week… mainly because about half of my classes were cancelled so I spent hours on the internet researching my trips to Kyoto and Tokyo! I have started dreading lunchtimes, though, as there is this really strange girl at school who acts like she’s seen a celebrity whenever she sees me… I mean she literally gets all giggly and hysterical and I sometimes think she’s so excited and overwhelmed that she might even cry - serious! She can’t speak a word of English and just repeats everything I say, followed by a nervous giggle! I’m running out of things to say to her now and when I sit there quietly at my desk eating my lunch, she just stands next to me and stares… and then giggles some more - argh!

I had the Friday off work to attend a meeting in Fukuoka… it was fun to catch up with some of the other teachers again and we all went to an English bar afterwards for a drink and a gossip. We went back to Mindy’s to watch ‘Blood Diamond’ which was so horrific! Laura got through a forest worth of tissues, while Mindy and I kept telling her to keep the sobbing noises down, as we couldn’t hear what was going on!

On Saturday, we had our usual potter around the Fukuoka shops and then stopped off a couple of times to do ‘purikura’… you enter a photo booth and decide on which background you want - some are fun, others are just crazy! The real fun comes after the photo taking, when you get to decorate the photos by adding accessories and doodling all over it! We had loads of fun trying out some of the different booths - some had ladders on the walls and ceilings to climb on, others had different themes… the photos of my stickers haven’t turned out brilliantly but it hopefully gives you an idea of what I’m going on about! My favourite is the one which looks like I’m about to jump on the girls!

I’ve just come back from hip hop, which was exhausting and then tomorrow, I’m going round to a Japanese family’s house for dinner… I’ve been there once before and they’ve invited me back again for some English conversation … in exchange for food - sorted!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



21st January 2008

Seriously worried about you mate! it will kill you when you come back to england to teach. how will you manage a whole week working? The girl sounds freaky try walking out the room every time she walks in. a woman at uni is driving me mad, has all these opinions but doesn't listen to anyone elses. she asked me question and when i was answering her she turned and spoke to someone else i was fuming and the people on my table knew it as i slammed my things. my step son is moving into my house in the next week or so. get rid of one gain one. Vik is really big now i felt the baby move last week not long now. you should go ice skating my Rhys goes every week he loves it. homework calls be good love helen xx
22nd January 2008

Hope you enjoyed your dinner.When you come home you will be used to eating out you wont want to cook at all.It is Carls birthday todayso we went there tonight Jake looks so cute in his glasses.The girl does sound a bit odd but what do you expect knowing you.Time for bed see you x

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb