i've still got it!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saga
January 23rd 2008
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night’s meal was lovely… the family that we went to see had invited their neighbours over to join us (as they are also keen to improve their English) and we must have talked for about 3 hours. Luckily, our host prepared a whole range of food so I tucked into the delicious home made burgers and had some potatoes and veg with them ... i steered well clear of the fish eggs, which absolutely stank! She has invited us over every Tuesday now so she can cook for us whilst we chat in English… suits me perfectly !

Yesterday, I walked into one of my classes to have my teacher tell me that I look like a zebra… a rather unusual comment I thought, but he said that I was wearing a stripy jumper and had my hair in a ponytail so it reminded him of a zebra… hmmm last time I wear that to school then!

I forgot to mention in my previous blog that at the meeting last Friday I finally met the guy who took over my placement in Misato… remember those blogs way back in August?!?! He said he loves it there… he works at a few really small schools and the kids are great… he says that he wanted a really quiet place as he is a musician and is busy working on his music every night and he also wants to become fluent in Japanese so it’s perfect for him not having any English friends to talk to… very lonely at times I would have thought but I’m pleased that it suits him… and even happier about the fact that it isn’t me who is there!

The FUNNIEST thing happened to me whilst waiting for the train this morning…there was a really cute boy (maybe 5 or 6 years old) who was obviously stunned to see a foreigner there and so just stood watching me for a while… he eventually smiled when I smiled at him and he said ‘hello’ so I said ‘good morning’… he was then obviously so impressed at seeing a real live English person that he whipped out his phone (yes, they ALL have mobiles at 6!) and took a few photos of me! Obviously without asking but I just thought it was so cute! He then proceeded to show his photos to all the commuters waiting for their train - he kept pointing at me and shouting ‘gaikokujin’ (japanese for ‘foreigner’!) The business men were obviously so mortified by what this boy had just done but I was laughing because I thought it was so sweet! Nice to know the novelty of having a foreigner in Saga hasn’t worn off just yet!


Advertisement



24th January 2008

Hi thats so wierd because katie dresses like a zebra also. only this morning i was asking her where her zebra top was. fancy having mobiles at 6 what will you do when you come back here and your not famous anymore. rhys is going dol-y-moch in may and sandra is right jacob looks such a cutie in his glasses.bless! having an early night tonight coffee then bed for me got forest school tomorrow bye for now love helen xx
25th January 2008

Zebra thats a new one.You will never get used to being back here a normal life again no celeb.Sudjat and Wesley asked about you today cant remember lessons but remember you.Fancy meeting person who took your job.It would have been much too quiet for you.x

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb