exploring kashima


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saga
January 29th 2008
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I decided to be a tourist on Saturday as I sometimes feel like I’ve not been exploring as many new places recently! So I took the train to Kashima and made my way to Hitoku Inari shrine… the third largest of its kind in Japan. I got even more looks than I normally get in Saga and lots of people walked past me commenting loudly about a “gaijin” (foreigner) being there! The shrine was beautiful and I had a lovely stroll around it for a couple of hours, despite it being a slightly cold and cloudy day… I bought a Japanese fortune doll, even though I can’t read the Japanese fortune that came with it! I can just tell myself that it’s all good!

In the evening, I met up with Gareth and Laura in a restaurant… some of the very drunk customers who were also there had obviously been talking to them inside and when I arrived one of them came up to me and asked me if I’d like to “marriage” with him! We then set off with lots of other “gaijin” to hit one of Saga’s clubs… one of our friends is working there now and she wants to organise a big DJ event once a month. We went along to support her really but ended up having a great time! Rather than the usual noisy techno music, the DJ played loads of great cheesy songs so we were all on the dance floor for hours!

On Sunday, I wanted to hit a new shopping centre that Laura said was close to her house… we cycled for at least half an hour before asking someone where to go - Laura’s Japanese is even more shocking than mine and when she asked a lady what she thought was “Where is the mall?” the lady looked at her watch and replied with the time… we had no choice but to say thank you and cycle off in fits of giggles! We cycled for another half an hour and then found a different person to ask who looked at us with a horrified expression and told us that it was really far away! So we gave up and went to You Me town instead to treat ourselves to a Starbucks. It’s a good job that the weather was beautiful for cycling! In the evening, we met up with Mindy and Gareth and had home-cooked lasagne… with REAL CHEESE that Gareth bought back with him from his holiday in Wales!

School is FREEZING! i actually had to wear my coat to classes yesterday like all the other teachers do, as I wasn't quite warm enough in the 4 layers I was already wearing - SERIOUS! it amazes me that the kids say how cold they are but they frequently leave windows and doors wide open!

mmmmm, free food and chit chat is waiting for me so I must be off!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th January 2008

Can't be bad - mixing tourism, dancing and food - all the things you like. Have you been back to the hip-hop? Even I have been feeling the cold to-day! Had the Romans in visiting. One of the kiddies asked if they were real Romans - I said ' From 78A.D.? We'll soon find out.' I think they realised I was joking! Carry on having a great time. Elaine
3rd February 2008

I still cannot believe how everything looks so beautiful over there. I also partied this weekend my stepsons 21st, it was a good night even better when his mates couldn't believe I was his stepmum, they said I didn't look old enough oh well some of us have it! Its really cold here so I can sympathise with you I think it will snow at easter. Bye for now love helen xx
6th February 2008

Hi again i thought you were going to say you were cycling in the wrong direction.Pics are good not a piece of litter in sight.It has been cold here and lots of rain,ducks could swim in my garden last month.Cake fairy sends her love She will catch up when her computer is fixed.Hols for us next week.Wales beckens.Our anniversary tomorrow but we are celebrating at the weekend.Must go-in need of coffee xhave fun

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb