Jaipur in a Jiffy


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
March 18th 2006
Published: March 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I left Pushkar and made it to Jaipur. Not much to say...stayed at Jaipur inn...not bad...met a few people and had some really great conversations about life, the universe and everything.

Didn't really want to stay too long as it was just another big city, not so pink and so I thought I'd book a day tour around the sights to cover them off in one go. This ended up being great for the fact I met masses of Indian tourists, who didn't want to sell me anything and were generally interested in my life, met a lovely couple from Mumbai and some Indians back over from L.A visiting family...As I was the only westerner on the tour the majority of it was delivered in Hindi, however as my Hindi isn't up to much it mainly went something like...Hindi for 5 mins explaining what was what, same bit in english in one sentence...Speed tourism just for me...that's what we like.

Visited the City Palace, Jantar Mantar (Observator,created by Jai Singh in 1728 -where they have the largest sundial in the world), which I have a feeling was a facinating place, the accuracy of the dials and readings was
Jantar MantarJantar MantarJantar Mantar

the worlds biggest sun dial
superb...just it was this particular time in the tour where the guide chose not to say much in english at all. So I was doing the old listen into other tours trick..a favourite past time!

Also went to the Nahargarh, Jaigarh Fort and Amber Fort, which were all ok...but I have definatley done my share of fort visits by now, and the Jodphur fort was so good that they all have a lot to live up to!

Decided to buy a bottle of whiskey, as hadn't had a drink in about a week...couldn't help but pick up the big bottle (super value shopping!) although as soon as I left the shop it kind of dawned on me how much I had to get through!! Still I reckoned I could share it out...met a lass called Helen that night...to my dismay she didn't drink whiskey!! Gutted...meant I got through half a bottle myself...just got a taste for it!!

Next night, an NZ lass called rachel helped me polish it off , so a bottle in two days wasn't so bad!! Atleast I didn't have to carry it!

Next day I left for Bundi, which took 3-4 hours on the bus...which has got to be THE scariest bus journey's I've taken so far! White knuckle or what...I had to keep reading to stop watching the road and the blind bends we were overtaking on...that and the communal passenger lean into the corners as we almost toppled round the bends and not forgeting the countless near misses of on coming traffic as we overtake...all good fun but!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb