Bundi Bound


Advertisement
Asia
March 21st 2006
Published: March 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Made it to Bundi!! What a fantastic place...really chilled no hassle and not a lot to do!

Met masses of people by just wandering round the streets...the bunch of blokes on the photos were teachers from a local college...their English was difficult to understand...however we established that I should go to the school at 11am the next day....OK I thought this could be a laugh...so off I went, thinking that I'd best practice my..."my name is Jon and I'm from England, where is my wife, what do I do and how much do I earn"

Turned up outside the gate the next day and no one met me!! Bugger I was looking forward to that...hung around for a bit, however decided not to venture in as I had no idea who I was looking for...as it was so hot I ended up back at the hotel for a bit of a siesta and then got up later to walk to the Jait Sagar, where Kipling was supposed to have written some of Kim.

The day before I had been super tourist and got off the bus, checked into my hotel and then visited Bundi Palace...I got convinced to be taken into the closed areas of the fort for an extra 50rp to see some of the wall paintings. Not so bad...but probably could have done without

The walk to the Jait Sagar proved interesting another bunch of teachers, this time with much better English invited me in for Chai and we went through the usual questions...although this time I was asked about the economy!! A new one...but one I think I covered off well.

After leaving the teachers I walked up the road and met another bunch of blokes, who invited me in for some Bhang Lassi!! Now I was a bit hesitant as I was on my own, so I took half a glass...I think much piss taking was happening, but eventually after being invited to go off and do something that evening and then the next day...when I explained I was leaving the next day...I was kind of ushered out! Still you live and learn! Shame...would have been interesting to chill with them.

Off to Udaipur tomorrow...which I have been told is fantastic...so looking forward to seeing the locations where the James Bond film Octopussy was set.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



28th March 2006

Hi
Have to say I think you've found your 'flow' with regard these updates - fantastic - still liking the photos!!! So do you still have a faint haze of orangy red about you or was it 'easy wash' dye they were flinging at you - sounds like you had a great time - I think you'll find there really aren't that many people in the world will have done that in their lifetime!! So had any more thoughts about Vietnam in June/July? Will keep catching up with you to enlighten my dreary afternoons at work when the boss isn't about - so keep the updates coming! Off to see Kerry and Nicole on Thursday, so really looking forward to that - take care, Nic
30th March 2006

Was pink for days
Hello mate Was pink for days....all the girls in the hotel were told to put oil on to stop the dye staining their skin!! Hmmmn....that info wasn't passed on...not that I've got any oil anyway! will keep downloading the photos when I get chance it's a bit of a job...but there the best bit eh!!?!? Take it easy Jon
8th April 2006

Me again! Lovin the tango shot! Bit of an extreme way of getting a bit of colour though! Nice to see that you are meeting lots of people. So, how was the set of Octopussy? Anyway, i really am going to force myself to go to the gym now so see ya.

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb