Atypical day


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Chandigarh
March 29th 2008
Published: March 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey Laura, is my bindi on straight? Can you make it straight?
Laura, I just blew my nose and I can't believe what came out!
I can't find my deodorant, can I use yours?
These are examples of what Laura is subject to on a daily basis while rooming with me. She's a good sport. Did I tell you yet that I adore this girl!!

I'm still having troubles attaching pictures and it's making me crazy. I need pictures on this blog!! I'm a much better photographer then writter, and I have some super pics!!

I've taken to doing yoga in the morning with my Indian father. EVERYBODY here does yoga in the morning. In the parks, on the roof, in their yards, it's neat to see. I'd always thought of yoga as just stretching but it's sooooooo much more then that and I really like the fact that I'm in India learning yoga from an Indian instead of paying some dolt in the US to teach me. I willingly wake up at 6:30am, we meet on the roof and do a series of breathing exercizes a few Ommmmm's and then some stretches. I'm just learning myself and it's way too elaborate for me to describe but it makes me feel great. Sometimes the breathing exercizes make me light headed but it's helping my newly quit smoking lungs to clear out. After yoga I go to the park and walk with my Indian cousin Suki. Of course a crowd gathers at the park to watch me exercize but I'm starting to not notice as much. The one danger of walking in the park is the monkeys. They are so cool to watch but they are a menace. You gotta make sure they don't come too close to you or they'll bite. Suki told me when he was a kid he got bit and had to get the rabies series of injections. I'd hate to have to admit to anyone that one time while in India I got rabies from a monkey so I stay as far away as possible. Yesterday there was a family of them trying to break into the flat across the street, so fun to watch! I wish we had monkeys running around the streets back home. It's not just monkeys everywhere, I told you about the cows, there's also horses, donkeys and pigs (or porks, as our driver calls them) HUGE porks eating the garbage, and dogs everywhere. It's like a zoo. One sad thing is the number of little puppies running around. It's sad because they are so damn cute but so dirty. Our Indian mother almost fainted the first day when I petted one. I'm not sure what she said because she speaks in Punjabi but from the tone I imagine it was something like: Dear Lord! What the hell is she doing?? Don't pet that dirty little catura= puppy, don't you know you can get a disease from them!! Go wash your hands right now!! and so now they get nervous when they see a puppy near me and they make Suki remind me in english to look but never touch. It's almost painful to not be able to play with these little puppies but again not as painful as the 12 shots required if I get rabies.
Tomorrow we are going to Rajasthan and plan to stay for a week. This is where I will hopefully get to camel treck in the desert. Don't ask me why but for a long time I've had this day dream of me on a camel in the desert. Should be interesting! It will be myself and Laura (dahhhh) accompanied by Suki, Jaggi (our Indian cousins) and our driver. Probably going to be HOT as hell. I think it's hot here in Punjab but they tell me I haven't seen anything yet. I hope all is well on your end. I'm not homesick in the slightest because I know you love me and I'm going to see you in a month. Be good Love Adrienne

Advertisement



30th March 2008

Hello lady I have been following your blog and wishing I was having adventures too! Stay safe and have a great time and don't stop posting!!!
4th April 2008

so what is a bindi?
You have said this word twice now and I have no idea what a bindi is....so tell me....what is a bindi?

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb