Nuckin Futs!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Chandigarh
March 28th 2008
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Did you ever see that movie Dickie Roberts Fomer Child Star with David Spade? In that movie people are always trying to get him to say "nuckin futs" because it was his tag line when he was a child actor. The family I'm staying with taught me how to say "Chock te fatay" which means "You can do it!" They beg me to say it at least 20 times a day. They seriously think it's the funniest thing in the world. I'm getting pretty tired of it but I give it my best seeing as it just cracks them up.
We are staying with Balbirs family and they have shown us the meanig of hospitality. They treat us like family, better then family! We have our own flat on the 2nd floor of their home. They wake us up with chai every morning. They feed us WAY TOO MUCH!!!! Their driver takes us anywhere we want to go. In the markets when some jerk is trying to take advantage of this clueless idiot (me) they step in and get me a good deal. It's great! I'm very happy here living in India with my Indian family. The days pass so quickly.
I was unable to extend my ticket for an extra month because of $$ or lack there of but I did extend for 2 more weeks. I feel like I could easily stay here for a year and it still wouldn't get old!! These have been some of the best days of my life and it keeps getting better. It was a capital idea to hook up with Balbirs family. This is the real deal, not the tourist version.
Last night Laura and I caused a riot in the streets! Full scale riot!! Absolute chaos!! Most of the people here have never seen a white person. They STARE at us!! They drive by turn their car around and drive by again. Where ever we go a crowd gathers. Today we went to the post office and it was pandemonium at the post office. We went to the grocery and a crowd was following us though the isles. If we are with our driver at a red light people will gather around the car, but last night in the narrow winding streets of Ropar all hell broke loose, good hell, not bad hell!! A hoard of kids and adults alike were following us and freaking out. It was awesome. I think I like it when people are so excited to meet me. I had to shake hands with a LOT of people but I didn't mind and I don't mind when they stare either. At first I felt a little nervous but with Balbirs nephews present I feel safe and I understand that they're just curious. I'm a curious girl myself. I think Balbir's family likes to show us off a little bit as well. They take us to visit their friends and relatives and then conveniently enough while we are visiting others will just "happen to be in the neighborhood" and " oh hey is that 2 white girls sitting on your couch? Good thing I have my camera with me" and "Adrienne, say chock te fatay!" I've never had my picture taken so many times.
Laura and I get along famously! Every night we sit and talk about the days events and laugh so hard it hurts, laugh so hard we have tears. There are not a lot of people I could handel being here with day in day out for a month and a half. She's always in a good mood, her sense of humor is platinum, she is willing to compromise and she makes our beds every morning!!!The girl is the BEST!!!I love her dearly!

Advertisement



28th March 2008

Alaska Girl
Adrienne, Howdy from Texas! I am having the best time following your TravelBlog. This should be made into a movie, "White Girls Schlep India" or something. Be so glad you're not in RoundRock. Crazy! Be careful out there! Peace Out, Janice
28th March 2008

Hi Adrienne!
Sounds like you are getting the superstar affection you deserve! It's so cool that you have hordes of followers -- it's only a matter of time until that starts happening in the U.S. -- just wait. Say hi to Laura for me!
30th March 2008

Hi guys
Hey Adianne and Laura, Sounds like you all are having a GREAT time, there in India!! Are you all going to Alaska this summer. Kieth and I are planning to. maybe I'll see you guys again. Take care and be careful, Cath

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb