A few interesting finds!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin » TEDA
February 24th 2014
Published: February 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Matthew's Drawing!Matthew's Drawing!Matthew's Drawing!

Matthew was asked in Chinese lesson to draw a round face, big ears, long body and legs! This is what he came up with!
We found a few interesting things in Tesco at the weekend!! In the fish and meat section we found very large frogs and turtles! Not something we are used to seeing every day and I have to say they did not look very tasty!!!

But on the plus side, I found a great in port shop with lots of yummy treats. The price they cost, they will be a special treat!!

We went out for a lovely dinner on Friday night, nice not having to cook. It was a western food restaurant and they had some yummy food on offer! We met up with a couple of Andy's work friends and their partners. the boys enjoyed this place because the owner has built a huge train set in the middle of the downstairs floor. I think we may visit this place a few times!!

On Sunday, one of Andy's friends and partner took us to a few great shopping places in the next town in Tangu. One of the places we went to was an indoor market - it was on 3 levels. The bottom was a mixture of make up, Chinese pictures, materials, bracelets, bags etc. The
Tesco findings!Tesco findings!Tesco findings!

Turtles and frogs.......
second level was clothes and the top was shoes. Each floor was the same size as Asda supermarket back in England. I thought of my cousin Lisa back in England when I saw all the shoes and bags!!!! I have never seen so many, she would be in heaven!!! I'm going to go back there next weekend and I will try and take a photo!!!

The air as been really bad the past few days, I cant remember what a blue sky looks like or the sunshine!!! The temp is getting a bit warmer though.

I am going to be busy this week, Matthew came home with a letter from school, next week they are celebrating Dr Seuss, the Cat In The Hat writer's birthday. They have lots of fun activities all week including a fashion cat walk show!!! Each child has to dress up as their fav. character from one of his books!! I wish our container was here now as all our art and craft bits are inside! So wish me luck, going back to market to see what I can find!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Bad air dayBad air day
Bad air day

On a good day, we can see lots of buildings ahead...


25th February 2014

Settled in
Hi everyone. Glad that you have settled well. The boys look really happy and settled. They are both growing really quickly. Speak soon. Xx
26th February 2014

Settled in
Hi Becca, It's lovely to hear from you!!! Matthew is slowly getting settled at school. There is a lot of home work which he is not keen about but he is leaning so many different things compared to UK. I think we are all adapting to the early morning starts! William, is William! Making friends with all that stop to play or talk to him! He has got a lovely bond with our driver. I would love to say it is the food making them grow but it's not! William will try anything but Matthew is......lets just say a little un willing to try anything that is new or looks different!! I am sure we will get there, just taking a lot longer than I thought!! Hope you and Will are ok! Speak soon xxxxxxx
27th February 2014

transfer
Omg I'm jealous! Yes pictures please! I bet it was all lovely too.... The Chinese are really petite though so I'd probably have to just dribble!! Loving the blog though, keep them coming!! X
28th February 2014

Shoes!!!!
We are going back to the indoor market and I am going to try and take photo's for you Lisa!!! As soon as I saw that floor my first thought was of you!!!!! Seem to have all sizes I noticed so you may be in luck!! I am still on the hunt for the silk green pj's for Connor!!

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb