CHINA: Inspiring the Nomad...How I lost my 3 dots, my camera & my name.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 2nd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

CHINA: Inspiring the Nomad...How I lost my 3 dots, my camera & my name.

In the beginning...there was the apostrophe, comma & full stop.

Punctuation was developing with civilisation...and it was good.

From scratching in sand with sticks, on papyrus, hieroglyphs, writing, many languages, the printing press, now computers...man had determination to express himself by the written word...only separated by spaces and punctuation.

Then from 2002...there was Travelblog...where like minded people...sharing a thirst for travel...sharing their experiences, thoughts and photographs...made contacts, friendships and liaisons in cyber space...and it was good.

In 2011...out of the wilds of Mali & Ethiopia...3 dots germinated...carried to Travelblog by the Dancing One...then nicked in China in 2013...by an anthropologist...and hidden behind a firewall...refusing to give them back!




"But you are using your 3 dots in this blog"...I hear you say.

3 dots indeed...but not the originals.

A generous blogger...feeling sorry for me...gave me 3 Vietnamese dots in replacement...his name is Cockle...really big dots...made me happy at the time...enough time to develop my new 3 dots...forged in elven steel...now stronger and better than ever.

But I still want my old ones back!


THE BIG BLUE EYETHE BIG BLUE EYETHE BIG BLUE EYE

Aspiring Nomad

Initial Liaison

Our daughter was studying in Shanghai when I was planning this trip, so I contacted bloggers known as Aspiring Nomad and Great China Roadtrip as I understood they were living in Shanghai, for the possibility of a meet up.

One replied...the one with "the big blue eye" as a profile picture...goes by the name Aspiring Nomad...only picture I'd seen of him...hope its enough to recognise him by.

We liaised by email...planning involved...ultimately arranged to meet at Roosevelt Sky Bar at 27 The Bund...he said he was paying!



It's in the Genes

First thing I noticed...the Nomad was really tall...and had a ponytail.

One day I'll grow a ponytail...so I can walk along a beach and everyone will say hello to me...or at music festivals... people will think I play in a band.

Had no idea from the profile picture of "the blue eye" that he'd be so tall.



Then noticed he got all of my jokes...and I got his...got on like a house on fire...lot of laughing...lot of silliness.

"You're the first American I've met that gets all of my jokes" I said.

"What makes you think I'm American?"

"Well...I've read BOTH of your blogs...and they were in USA...so I thought..."

"No. I'm English" he said. "My wife Jennifer is American...of German/Norwegian heritage."

"English...wow...I wonder if we're related".

Time to do a bit of research.



My wife Denise is a First Fleeter...one of those rare Aussies descended from those on the 11 ships from England carrying convicts to start a colony in the Great Southern Land in 1788 that landed in what is now Sydney.

But Denise is not descended from convict stock...her ancestor was Lieut Waterhouse...an English officer...later instrumental in bringing sheep to OZ...as well as generations of coal miners.

And I'm a Second Fleeter...descended from Surveyor Evans...an Englishman who followed Blaxland, Wentworth & Lawson across the Blue Mountains in 1813...opening a path to Western New South Wales...and the first Magistrate in South Australia, the first woman doctor in Newfoundland (my grandmother), a Swedish King (the French one)...some Irish, Scots,...and a bit of Spanish.

Makes me a genetic pot pourri.

Both Denise & I are of Explorer stock.

So how could it be that the Nomad and I are related???



The Explorer Gene

The 125th Anniversary Edition of National Geographic's article on the Explorer Gene...yep...that's it...how Captain Cook met a Polynesian in Tahiti...his people having migrated there in eons past.

DNA testing in recent times confirming this.

We have all heard of the global journey...peoples migrating from the Cradle of Civilisation...Africa...spreading over the World...adapting to various climates...tribes...ethnic groups...civilisations...rising, falling...humanity in flux...genes evolving...survival of the fittest.

But why migrate...why explore?

It seems that some can't help it...it's irresistable...it's in their genes.



A gene called DRD4...which helps control dopamine...the chemical that triggers our brains in the reward and learning processes...has a variant shared by an estimated 20%!o(MISSING)f humans that leads to curiosity and restlessness.

It's variant genes are called DRD4-7R or DRD4-2R...sometimes called the Explorer Genes.

I reckon the Nomad has these genes in abundance...and so do I for that matter.

This manifests in the Nomad in that he has visited many countries...and lived in 12.



The Explorer Gene also manifests in cane toads in Northern Australia...how cane toads with longer legs are at the front of the migratory horde heading South...longer legs than those
JENNIFERJENNIFERJENNIFER

Patience of a Saint
behind...mating with others with long legs...perpetuating the long-legged gene.

I wonder if that's what happened to the Nomad!!!



Meeting Jennifer & the kids

Our second meeting was over lunch at Paulaner's in the French Concession...elaborate spread...German cuisine in Shanghai.

There we met the Aspiring Nomad other half...the lovely Jennifer...patience of a Saint...somehow keeps the Nomad in check...keeping an eye on their two blonde kids...Kiva just 5 and Mandalay now 2...both kids restless...exhibiting the Explorer Gene.

Nice opportunity for Denise and our kids, Simon 27 and Anna-Louise 24...to have a good feed...and chew the travel fat...both our kids also with the Explorer Gene swirling in their veins.

Nice opportunity for the Nomad & I to have a couple of beers...and recount how we had managed to get back after our first meeting.

Pretty well the last table to leave...great day.



Losing my 3 dots...my camera...and my name

The first time I met the Nomad he was carrying a pocket camera.

He kept on wanting to hold my camera...kept on plying me with cocktails...kept on eyeing off my camera.

I kept a close eye on him...and my
BONDING IN THE BUNDBONDING IN THE BUNDBONDING IN THE BUND

Dancing Dave & Aspiring Nomad
camera.



The next time I met him...he had the same camera as me...Sony NEX-5..."Just bought it he said"...his silver while mine was black...his only with the standard 56 mm lens.

He kept plying me with beers...kept on eyeing off my 18 - 200 mm lens.

I kept a close eye on him...and my lens.



Later I received a Christmas card from him...handed it to me with a smile.

Made it clear he expected my lens as a Christmas present.



I then started to notice I couldn't get my 3 dots to work...couldn't write any blogs...contacted the Nomad in alarm.

Then started receiving emails from him...confirming he had my 3 dots...confirming he had corrupted them for his own use...even used them in his emails.

Then to rub it in...he signed the emails...from "Aspiring David."


Dear Reader...you must be horrified...be patient...it gets worse!!!


He then sent me a photo...with this message:

"I've attached a photo I took on New Years Eve with your camera. It is a gift you can use in your upcoming blog, if you feel the need to fill that rectangular space above your blog with authenticit Magic, since I probably won't get around to blogging about Shanghai til circa 2019. It hasn't been Photoshopped so your conscience will be clear.

Take it with the love its given... I stole your camera, your dots and your name... its the least I can do."



Talk about rubbing it in.



New Year's Eve

Denise, Anna-Lou & I just back in Shanghai from our time in Yellow Mountain and Suzhou...Simon just back in Canada.

Since I had last seen the Nomad I had bitten on a peppercorn and broken a tooth...affected my smile for the rest of my time in China, Vietnam & Cambodia...bummer!

The Nomad & Jennifer arrive at our hotel room at 10 to 12...23rd Floor of Hotel Indigo...view down the Huangpu River to the Bund and beyond...fireworks at midnight.

They staying at a hotel nearby...their kids with a babysitter.

They got on our bed...Den on LHS as usual...the Nomad taking my usual position on the RHS...Jennifer sprawled at the foot...me relegated to a chair to the side...feels like family...no food...no drinks...just chatting away.

Had to kick them out at 2.30 a.m...gotta let their babysitter go
RURAL LABORERS SERIESRURAL LABORERS SERIESRURAL LABORERS SERIES

Oil paintings by Wei Yi
home...hugs and smiles all round.

Sadly...that was the last time we saw Jennifer.



Inspiring the Nomad

The Nomad made it clear he might live and teach in Shanghai...but he knew nothing about its sights or culture...so needed to learn about them...from me!

Got together with the Nomad again...allowed out one more time...for a bit of culture...taking him to the Art Zone. Den & Anna-Lou had been there before...insisting I go...so we collected the Nomad on the way.

The Art Zone is a collection of factory type units with rooms dedicated to works by modern Chinese artists...sensational.

Immediately the Nomad went into Art Appreciation mode...discussing the artworks with insight and intellect...must have read the brochures before he came...pieces of beauty, politics, human spirit...esoteric...outrageous...evocative.

Then Den led us to a portrait gallery...our reason for coming...then left the Nomad & I...she returning to our hotel for a dumpling class with Anna-Lou.

This exhibition was by a guy who studied a peasant village in Hunan Provence that is inhabited mainly by unmarried men...the women having moved to cities...paintings of village life and their lives and characters captured in amazing portraits...heaven for me.

We were the only visitors allowed to photograph, and we were given DVDs as gifts.

It was mighty cold and we were hungry...so we headed off to satisfy our bellies...and did what you would expect two Travelbloggers let loose together would do...taking photographs together...gotta say that was fun...wandering streets of graffiti...both with Sony NEX-5s...our hands freezing until we could do no more.

The Nomad saw some girls taking photographs of themselves in front of a graffiti reading "SEXY"...he photographing them doing that...calls me over as the girls wander away.

So I got them back...easy when you know how...and they posed for us...the Nomad expressing amazement I could organise that...nice shots.

Then a restaurant for steamed dumplings...some beers...and a couple of shots for 'Beers of the World' thread...someone's gotta do it.

Got the Nomad back to his hotel just before his family had to vacate...just...hope Jennifer not too annoyed...patience of a Saint.

That was the last time I saw the Nomad...but we keep in touch...I think we must be related.



Epilogue

I'm leaving for Vietnam to travel with Cockle and The Travel Camel...for Mischief on the Mekong.

I keep hearing of the Travelblog family...wonder if I'm related to these guys as well!

*******

So Aspiring Nomad...you can keep my 3 dots...you've made it clear in emails that you are not returning them...I've rebuilt mine...now forged in elven steel...stronger and better than ever...you won't be able to pinch those.

You can keep my camera...Sony NEX-5...brilliant...but you can't have my 18-200mm lens...no way I'm giving that up.

And my name...suggest you keep yours...can't imagine Jennifer calling you David...after all there's only one Dancing One...only one true owner of the 3 dots...and only one Aspiring Nomad.

Or do I hear Jennifer say "No...There are four"!!!

Relax & Enjoy,

Dancing Dave


Additional photos below
Photos: 105, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

WAITING FOR THE NOMADWAITING FOR THE NOMAD
WAITING FOR THE NOMAD

Anna-Lou at Roosavelt's Skybar, Shanghai
FROM JASON TO MOIFROM JASON TO MOI
FROM JASON TO MOI

Nice way to start the evening


2nd May 2013

...
Dear Dancing Dave, I have no idea what your blogs are about, and the thing with the three dots puzzles me endlessly, but this here made my day: "One day I'll grow a ponytail...so I can walk along a beach and everyone will say hello to me...or at music festivals... people will think I play in a band." Cheers, Jens
2nd May 2013

HI JENS
Yep...one day I'll grow a ponytail...and one day I'll reveal if I already play in a band. Thanks for commenting.
2nd May 2013
SHANGHAI

Really like this shot. I'm glad you got your dots back -- forged in elven steel. I wonder what will happen when you all meet next? Better keep an eye on your lens!
2nd May 2013
SHANGHAI

HI MICHELLE
I reckon when we next meet he'll give me his ponytail...or maybe...I'll nick it!!!
2nd May 2013

Travel blog has done it again....sounds like a great time was had by all. Glad you are showing Jason around Shanghai.
2nd May 2013

DAVE & MERRY JO
Yep...TB has done it again...always a blast to meet other Travelbloggers. Reckon I might go back and show Jason some more of China...someone's gotta do it.
2nd May 2013

. .-.. .-.. .. .--. ... .. ...
I'm so pleased you got your ellipsis back. But where did you find an Elven forge to smelt it - I don't remember a blog from Middle Earth! Loved the pictures, particularly the panoramas. You don't need to tell me which button you chose on the Toilet Control Panel (http://www.travelblog.org/Photos/7488089) - Dancing Dance could only have pushed 'Rhythm'! P.S. The comment title includes an alternative use for your 3 dots (Morse code for Ellipsis of course!).
3rd May 2013

HI MIKE
Rhythm was good...oscillating was sensational...as I said...the ultimate choice. Glad you raised the issue of "ellipsis"...a journalistic term for a space needing completion. This is where my 3 dots are so unique...therefore very valuable. While other TBers may use 3 dots as an ellipsis...the Dancing One does not!
2nd May 2013

Unfortunately there is always one dot to rule them all
Forged in elven steel or not, makes no difference, stolen by Aspiring Nomad or not, makes no difference. All dots are ruled by the one. The question is, who has got the one?
3rd May 2013

one dot to rule them all
Ralf...one dot to rule them all...sounds like dark forces at work to me. I thought you were the master of dude lore and I the master of dot lore. In my youth I had a comp tennis team called Rivendell, so pretty easy to caste my new dots in elven steel. In Rivendell...3 dots beats one dot any day. No fantasy from my side!
2nd May 2013

And I thought the three dots were mine...
in my first blog published in March 2009! I've been using them for 50 years. But I have to admit you are the master of their use...a complete opposite of legalese. What a great blog about TBer's getting together...brought back memories of our couple days together in Sydney...thanks again for that time!
3rd May 2013

And I thought the three dots were mine...
No Bob...you are telling stories. If you were using 3 dots for 50 years, they were obviously different dots...maybe like Mike's ellipsis...but I doubt that too as you are never short of anything to say! Happy memories of your time in Sydney...and forcing you along on our little bush bash!
3rd May 2013

An esoteric masterpiece!
Most readers would have needed to consult the brochure to understand most of this. Speaking of readers, you're gonna need some more comments to go with all those views.
3rd May 2013

An esoteric masterpiece!
Brochure available on request
3rd May 2013
THE BIG BLUE EYE

Great idea for a pic
I don't even remember you taking it. With that lens though, I don't doubt you took it from the far side of the Huangpu River. Bit pixely, mind.
3rd May 2013
THE BIG BLUE EYE

Definitely pinched this one
3rd May 2013
DANCING SNOW

The portrait meister!
Time to change your profile pic, mate. Tooheys have been on the blower. The face that cracked Asia. Retainer!
3rd May 2013
OUR TOILET CONTROL PANEL

Nightmares
"Inner wash" should translate as "penetrative wash."
3rd May 2013
OUR TOILET CONTROL PANEL

Yep...I remember when you tried out my new toy. And there I was extolling the virtues of the action settings...and you had to try back, front & inside...big mistake!!!
3rd May 2013
LAST BEER TOGETHER

We were just sitting there minding our own business...
And then that guy came along and took this photo. Candid shots are always the best!
3rd May 2013

Blaxland, et al
One of Sylvia's convict ancestors (yes, she has several. I suspect that is in the genes, also!) was in Blaxland's party when he crossed the Blue Mountains. Didn't make it into the history books, though.
3rd May 2013

Blaxland, et al
So Sylvia has the Explorer gene. I heard recently a 4th person was named as deserving history in Blaxland, Wentworth & Lawson's discovery of a route through the Blue Mountains in 1813. What was the name of Sylvia's ancestor? For some neat trivia, my ancestor Surveyor Evans is special for me. When i was about 13 with 3 others I was on my first Duke of Edinburgh's hike in the Blue Mountains when we got terribly lost in shocking weather that washed away tracks etc. I trudged along thinking I was going to die. We climbed some cliff tracks in desperation and at the top there was a sign "Evans Lookout" which cheered me up no end!
4th May 2013

Sylvia's ancestor...
...was William Bridle. His journey is recorded on the Monaro Pioneers' website.
4th May 2013

Despite having just made me feel like I walked in on a rather awkward private moment, I am glad to hear you regained your stylistic punctuation. :)
6th May 2013

...
One of those guys with the explorer gene brought those three dots to Vietnam, and now they drive me nuts in students academic essays. Or maybe they originated in Asia? Glad you showed Jason some of the culture in Shanghai, so he can pass it on to us when we arrive. Awesome pictures by the way.
6th May 2013

KRIS & KATE
Sounds like Jason is distributing fake 3 dots and slipping them into Vietnam to haunt you. One extra thing to sort out when you hit Shanghai. Make sure you wear your Explorer Genes when you meet! Thanks for commenting.

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 18; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb