In my mind I'm going to Shanghai, China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 10th 2011
Published: May 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived in China. My flight from Seoul ended up being about 90 minutes late, so I got to the Shanghai airport just in time to get the last bus out of the airport. After a quick stop at the train station so I could buy my ticket to Suzhou for later today, I took a cab to my hostel in the Putuo district, northwest of the Huangpu River cutting the city in half.

Today I plan to see a few sights around Shanghai before heading to Suzhou to find Mike's new place, a few blocks from his old one. On the list:

* China's pavilion at Expo 2010 - lines for this were 5+ hours long during Expo when I was here last, so I didn't bother trying to see it. Due to high demand they kept it open an extra 6 months, i.e. for about another 3 weeks from now! Last chance!
* Jade Buddha and Jing'an Temples - well-known Buddhist temples in Shanghai that I just haven't made it to before
* People's Square - Shanghai's answer to Beijing's better-known cousin Tian'anmen square. The Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Art Museum are in this area so I may try to go to one or both of those.

My train leaves in 7 hours, so off I go!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb