Recent Escapades


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 11th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Impending DoomImpending DoomImpending Doom

I rode on my uncle's moped on our trip to the supermarket during my activity slump. Definitely biting my lip out of fear! Here's what's going through my head while I'm on this thing: "F, it's cold!...Oh god, I'm going to die. I'm going to die right here in the streets of China...You know, I kinda want a motorcycle"
First, I know I've been bad so my apologies. Ah, now that that's been said I'll pick up where I left off. Things were sort of slow for a while. I had dinner with one of my uncles, his family and friends. Other than that I pretty much sat around and ran errands with my xiao jiu jiu and xiao jiu ma (the uncle and aunt that I'm living with) Then last week (at least i think it was last week...i've sort of lost track of time) I met up with an old aquaintance. I thought it would be kinda awkward since I hadn't seen her in 5 years and I had committed to a full day of me struggling to speak to her in chinese, but it turned out to be a lot of fun (and she was pretty much fluent in english so we had a grand ole time) I met her at People's Square where my aunt decided I was finally ready to venture out without a chaperone (score!) and left me with my friend at the subway platform. We skipped arm in arm (not really) over to the Old City (haha my third time). Before reaching the
Hot PotHot PotHot Pot

At dinner with my uncle, his family, and friends. My face sums up my feelings for the evening. p.s. Is that A LOT of meat or what?!
really tourist-y area we walked through some of the streets and went to a Confucian temple. She said it used to be used for test taking back when they used to choose government people like that (remember that from P&C frosh year?!) We both left test related wishes at the temple and then headed off. We ate lunch at the Old City which was D-licious. Oh! You guys will love this. She convinced me to try the chicken feet and I have to say, they don't taste bad...but all the little knubby bones I had to spit out made it feel way too much like I was eating somebody's hand so I put an end to that experience after the first bite. After lunch we checked out the lovely Yuyuan Garden located smack dab in the middle of the bustling old city. She then took me to something like the book district (i had no idea where we were, but apparently it's where they have a whole bunch of book stores) and I finally got a map of Shanghai I could understand. At the end of the day (4:00 :p) we went back to People's Square and did a little
I got the hookupI got the hookupI got the hookup

Look close! This is the guy you need to talk to about acing them tests!
window shopping. I took the train and bus back home all by myself for the first time in the month that I've been here (score again!...is it sad that these events are milestones in my experience here?) And then *pauses to build anticipation* I did nothing for a few days more. A few more noteworthy memories: I was watching the english channel and there was a program on with people discussing chinese spending habits. I laughed like a monkey when one of the asian women said that "China is very bling bling right now" (btw, I think this means that the phrase is officially dead.)Another good one was a conversation I had with my brother:
Me: So everyone keeps asking me what you like so that they can buy it for you. Is there anything in particular you want me to bring back for you?
Sam: I already told you. Lots and lots of opium.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

BunniesBunnies
Bunnies

For sale on the streets outside of the Old City. I would actually buy one except a.)I'm too afraid of catching some variation of avian flu from it, b.) I would probably cry when it came time to leave it, and c.) I wouldn't want to make Bunny jealous (Nilofer, remember when i left her in champaign in 8th grade? I was devastated.)
Making a SealMaking a Seal
Making a Seal

I bought one of those stamp thingies that has your name on it from this guy. My mom told me I got ripped off. Damn you seal maker.
Bamboo GroveBamboo Grove
Bamboo Grove

A pretty view from Yuyuan garden, and now that I think about it I didn't even go through that doorway to take a closer look :(
A Winding PathwayA Winding Pathway
A Winding Pathway

I got nothing. It was pretty, ok?
Yuyan GardenYuyan Garden
Yuyan Garden

Impressive, no? Well I thought it was if you don't and clearly all those tourist are on my side, so ha!


18th February 2006

opium
sam is a riot. that silly guy craks me up. anywho, hi my dear! first of all, i want to brag to the world of how cool I am. I was mentioned in jeanette's travelblog! score! this was a delightful entry. super funny. honestly when i read this i hear your voice and see your facial expressions. it's AWESOME. i love the pretty pics you are taking. quite exciting. hope all is well babe and i miss you tons! love, yours truly.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb