Waiting


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Shiny (after)Shiny (after)Shiny (after)

The wishing tree, still lookin' good.
There hasn't been too much going on recently and I've been really tempted to just post pictures, but I'll give you a run down of what I've been doing (and then some) I already mentioned meeting up with that soon-to-be classmate. Afterwards, Jiawei and I went to my Uncle's friend's house for a karaoke filled dinner. It would have been really funny, but I was pretty tired and suffocating from sitting around with 5 people smoking in each other's faces. The next day I stayed in the apartment with my cousin and my aunt. We slept really late and pretty much did nothing all day. I watched pirated Madagascar and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Haha and if you care, I recommend Madagascar and think that Tim Burton has issues. Yesterday, my cousin and her family took me out to Nanjing Rd. which is sort of a mix between Michigan Avenue and Time Square. I was pretty hungry by the time we got there, which turned out to be good. We ended up sampling all the different foods that the vendors were selling. Afterwards we headed to the Old City again, but this time it was dark and all the lights
ClassmatesClassmatesClassmates

Ok I didn't want to post a picture of my classmate without her permission, but she's next to me. We're looking goofy playing China's DDR called Easy to Dancer (god bless the people who do all the translating)
were on. That gold tree that I took a picture of the last time was covered in red ribbons. You could buy the ribbon attached to a coin, make a wish and throw it into the tree (nicer than a wishing well, right?) We ate dinner at the Old City then headed to the Bund. It was bloody cold on the waterfront and I was dying to head back home even though my uncle was urging me to take pictures of the wonderfully lit buildings. We headed back after than, and I can honestly say that night's hot shower was the happiest moment of my life (or at least it was up there). That pretty much sums it up.

Now I thought I'd take the time to mention a few things that some of you might find amusing (well I find them amusing, you'll probably just think I'm disgusting). Since people don't really use indoor heating during the winter I usually wear the following when I'm inside: the appropriate undergarments 😉 , a long tank top, a thick long sleeve undershirt, a button up flannel shirt, a sweater, my fleece, jeans, spandex, and socks. I've really come to love
Kill me nowKill me nowKill me now

Yes, I am wearing a baggie on my shoe, and there are three middle aged men karaoke-ing. No, you can't see the tiger stuffed animal wearing a leather baseball cap, and yes, I'm aware this is a complete waste of picture space.
my spandex as I've found it serves several purposes. 1.) An extra layer of warmth (of course) 2.) And since it practically reaches my armpits, it works as another layer on top 3.) It seals out all the cold air that sneaks in under my jeans and sweater since it's tucked into my socks (alright, everyone tuck your pants into your socks!), and my shirts are tucked into it. 4.) And finally, control top, you know, after those huge dinners. So now can you imagine how freaking AWESOME a hot shower is after wearing all that and still being cold all day? Another fun/revolting fact: I haven't washed my jeans though I've worn them everyday since I got here (if it don't smell it don't need washin') This is because everything is line dried and jeans take forever to line dry. These are the thickest jeans I brought and I need them every second I am awake. Well, my apologies to anyone who read this far. I hope you've enjoyed learning about how filthy I am as much as I've enjoyed telling you. Over and out,

-jeanette

p.s. Am I starting to lose my mind?


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Pizza HutPizza Hut
Pizza Hut

Here is the waiting line outside of pizza hut. Now you know what I mean when I say Pizza Hut is a nice sit down restaurant in China.
Nanjing Rd.Nanjing Rd.
Nanjing Rd.

Oh my crap. China has a lot of people. Oh yes, and here's a picture on Nanjing Rd. that doesn't do it justice.
Hong dou tangHong dou tang
Hong dou tang

My aunt and I eat hong dou tang (a sort of sweet bean soup...that sounds gross but it's really yummy) on Nanjing Rd.
I know, it's old, but stillI know, it's old, but still
I know, it's old, but still

I know you've seen it, but it was really pretty all lit up. Check out the buildings in the background!
After DarkAfter Dark
After Dark

The Bund when all the neon signs are glowin'. The picture didn't fit Epson, Bayer,Toyota, Casio, and some others. By the way, Abbott?!


5th February 2006

jeans
to the people of the world that have a thousand pants or believe in actually washing them, boo to you! :o) i am in total agreement about the jeans, babe. why wash them? they still smell okay. and look clean. i think you're cool. don't worry. this was not a waste. i thoroughly enjoyed reading about your time in good ole China. The pics are amazing, but you already knew that. Everything looks so neat and just "wow" you know? Post about school!! And it's potential scariness but coolness. and keep these colorful pics coming! toodles to you!
6th February 2006

Travel writer
It is sooooooo neat to read something you wrote yesterday!!! It feels as though I am able to talk with you!!!! As for the clothes - stop being soooo western!!! You gotta keep warm, right! AND - you look GREAT!
6th February 2006

i will call this comment "jeans" as well
hahaa...Jeanette, ur post made me laugh. I am wearing dirty jeans right now! I wonder if jeans really do smell and we've just gotten used to their smell...i hope not! Keep sharing them pictures! They're almost as cool as the stories u've got to share! :) aright, that's it for now! peace!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb