Zhong Shan Park


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
January 30th 2006
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

La MeiLa MeiLa Mei

Gorgeous yellow flowers (lamei) line this path in Zhong Shan Park. Even though the streets are dirty, the parks are immaculate.
Hiya sorry for not updating in the last few days. Here's what's been going on...The pictures are from Jan. 30 when my Aunt took me and my cousin to Zhongshan park. I sort of remembered the park from when I was little, though I didn't remeber it being so pretty. After walking around for a while we came to an area where there was music playing and all these people were watching a bunch of middle aged people dance. Anyone who felt the urge could join in, and before we knew it my cousin and I were giggling at my Aunt while she danced with a friend. When the song finished my aunt told me to dance with her, so before I knew it my cousin was giggling at me and I was tripping over my aunt's feet. Later, my aunt asked if parks in America had people doing that sort of thing and I realized that we didn't (wouldn't it be fun if we did?) I mean, outside of prearranged performances and kids playing in water fountains, we don't have large displays of group merriment. That made me think of a question a dear friend of mine asked. He wanted
Zhong Shan ParkZhong Shan ParkZhong Shan Park

It's like stepping into a different world (compared to the crowded streets).
to know if I could sense the "oppression of the people" or any form of strictness from the government. When I see people at the parks and eating big noisy dinners together it's really the last thing that comes to mind. I've noticed that people work really hard, but they also know how to have fun. When people get together everyone jokes around and make really witty comments and jabs at each other. Even though it's good to have connections to people with power everyone seems to lead fulfilling lives. That's not to say it's paradise (I was quite appalled to hear about Google restricting searches for its Chinese site) but then again, look at the freedoms that Americans have been giving up recently. So I guess that's what I have to say about that.

Otherwise it's been pretty uneventful (eating then going to somebody else's house to eat some more) Though, the other day I found out that one of my CIEE classmates is already in Shanghai. We got together for some window shopping and (oh Ilan would be so jealous) the Chinese version of DDR (it's translated to Easier to Dancing or something to that effect) She
People watchingPeople watchingPeople watching

People came out to enjoy the unusually warm weather.
was really nice, and I really look forward to meeting the rest of my classmates as they start to trickle into the city. That's pretty much all I've got for now...

Your Dancing Queen,
jeanette


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Bumper BoatsBumper Boats
Bumper Boats

Umm excuse me! Why don't we have this in America?!?! There's even a floaty thing that if you hit it sprays water everywhere. Seriously, somebody needs to set this up in Chicago.
Tiny DancersTiny Dancers
Tiny Dancers

Haha aren't I clever? No? Oh well. Anyways, people dancing their cares away.
Grapevine to the left (clap)Grapevine to the left (clap)
Grapevine to the left (clap)

All that line dancing in Old Orchard and Niles North really paid off. It was actually a lot of fun making a fool of myself, I highly recommend it.


2nd February 2006

jeanette!
wow jeanette! ur pictures are so nice! It must have been so cool to be in China during chinese new year! We had a chinese new year dinner here yesterday! It wasn't all that great, but I wished u were here! They decorated the place really nicely and they even rented a dragon costume! Keep up the good work in ur blogging! Miss u man! I can't wait till next year!...u must share all ur lovely adventures with me during our late night conversations. muahaha :P
3rd February 2006

Tell me....
Jeanette - So - what would you call me in Chinese? Your pictures and descriptions are just wonderful - I think you ought to become a writer rather than a doctor! So - when do classes start? (Don't yell at me!!!!) Love you. Aunt Anne
5th February 2006

captions
I totally agree with your aunt, Jeanette. Your captions are superb! And "Tiny Dancers" was a great caption. you are quite the clever gal. missing you. <3, me

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb