Shanghai Surprise - Eating to my heart's content


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 11th 2008
Published: November 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dumpling shop!Dumpling shop!Dumpling shop!

Here is the outside of the dumpling shop right in front of Serina's apt building.

Welcome to Day Three of the Shanghai adventure!



Last night was quite a doozy and didn't have the best sleep as I didn't go to bed until VERY late. What's the best thing to do? Walk it off...and that I did.

I decided to take a walk around my neighborhood. Venture out a little bit into the unknown. Risky. Scary. Fun! 😊

After this day, I have concluded that I really do like this place. There seems to be a bit of a contrast in regards to the development of the city of Shanghai. In some areas, you will see quite the cosmopolitan, well-lit, and extravagant elements of a major city. On the other hand, you will notice the opposite in very primitive forms of travel (bicycles everywhere), tiny alley ways of houses where clothes form a canopy, and the street vendors and hagglers who try to sell you anything.

I can definitely see both sides and how this poses as such a battleground for future competition of land and prosperity. Though some may ask how one can bear such primitive lifestyle and the unimaginable lack of sanitary regulations, but I believe there is a certain charm still left in the city. I love it, so rough, so raw. All still at your fingertips and steps away.

The last place of the day really summed it all up. Tai Kang Rd. Alleyways. It was the tourist area in which a large block is made of tiny little alley ways. It is very small and can be easily missed when passing by. I was taken there by Nick and Mickey at night and much of it was unlit, even I felt myself grip my bag tighter walking through those dark corners, not knowing where I was going and hardly able to see the person ahead of me (thought maybe I should've gone during the daytime). But we went for a little dessert. The area is known for art exhibits, small boutiques, and amazing coffee shops. It used to be a residential area but has since transformed into an Expat hotspot. I really wished I had another chance to go back. 😞

We had some delicious french desserts at a great restaurant called Origins to end off the night.




Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sport centerSport center
Sport center

Great facilities
Purple powerPurple power
Purple power

Interesting choice of purple for the window coverings
ArchitectureArchitecture
Architecture

Great shot of a architecturally pleasing building
Cite BourgogneCite Bourgogne
Cite Bourgogne

The French influence is apparent all over parts of the city
Residential nooksResidential nooks
Residential nooks

Very much character in many of these pockets of houses
Primitive transportation of goodsPrimitive transportation of goods
Primitive transportation of goods

This man picking up his load off the ground after a little stumble.
Local Street MarketLocal Street Market
Local Street Market

Literally, some of the food was laid out on the street. Don't worry, it was raining.
Talk about FRESHTalk about FRESH
Talk about FRESH

Live ducks, killed, boiled, feathered, and sold!
FeatheringFeathering
Feathering

Lady feathering the duck.
Through the rainThrough the rain
Through the rain

Venders must try to sell all their produce or else it will go bad.
Not for the faint of heartNot for the faint of heart
Not for the faint of heart

This is the freshly boiled duck that is partially feathered.
SeafoodSeafood
Seafood

All kinds
Steamed bun stopSteamed bun stop
Steamed bun stop

Hungry? Stop here for a hearty snack!
Garbage bags?Garbage bags?
Garbage bags?

Hey, what you got in those bags?
FrogsFrogs
Frogs

Hey Hey! Don't throw that garbage bag out! I've got my frogs in there! Not sure what the red bowl is, but I have an idea.


11th November 2008

nice pics
12th November 2008

Hey man, good to see you've been exploring some of the ghetto areas - those were the places I found the best deals and food. :)
13th November 2008

Yang's has the best dumplings!!!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 4; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb