Shanghai Surprise - China loves Obama Too!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 12th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day Four of my Romantic Getaway with my 3 Favourite People



Yesh, it was me, myself, and I that had continued our lovers tour of Shanghai. Today, I realized how much I could actually eat and was the first time I realized you can eat like a pig, even if you're not on a cruise ship. In Shanghai, this is easy to do with how inexpensive the food is.

So my friend Niall from The Marina Grille, the restaurant that I have been working at for about 7 or 8 years (yes, I started at a very tender age and still have the fondest memories of the place) had left this summer a little early for school. She goes to Queens, but went for an exchange/overseas semester in Shanghai. I said to her: "I am coming to visit you" and that I did! I love doing things that I say I'm going to do. Luckily I caught her at a time when she wasn't traveling and exploring China, as she said she had been doing that a lot. We planned to meet at an American bar called "Malone's American Bar" in the morning to watch the live televised US presidential election.

There, I had met several of her friends from Queens also doing the program at Fudan University. Being there that morning, I felt as if I had never left home. It was actually weird realizing that we were in China. Every person in there was not Asian. The first time in a while that I felt like a minority again...quite comforting actually. So, we caught up and talked and just gazed at the screen in anticipation for the Democratic win. They were ALL Obama fans. Niall and I just kept looking at each other thinking how weird it was to be together but in such a different place in the world.

I then decided to walk across a main street called Nanjing Rd. all the way across to the Shanghai museum. Yes, call me crazy, it is a pretty far walk, but I had just eaten like 5 filling Japanese delicious buns.

Lastly, what a better way to end off the night than to enjoy another very traditional Shanghai Dinner! I met up with Eric and friend John, along with Kitty and friend Carol. We all ate together and had a great talk,
Will.I.Am HologramWill.I.Am HologramWill.I.Am Hologram

Hilarious Holographic Star Wars esque will.i.am....too funny.
this followed up by the Eric's question: "So Nathan, do you want to see Shanghai, like really SEE it?"

Check out the pictures because we definitely SAW Shanghai tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Niall and NathanNiall and Nathan
Niall and Nathan

Can't believe we saw each other again, in SHANGHAI!!!
Fancy HotelFancy Hotel
Fancy Hotel

This little stop helped me a lot, not only was I able to take out money from a familiar bank, but I bought some fruit too.
Plaza 66Plaza 66
Plaza 66

A more posh shopping mall. Similar to your Holt Renfrews, Landmarks, IFC's...
Me and the Japanese buns.Me and the Japanese buns.
Me and the Japanese buns.

I came across this place on the newly developed side of the "Food district".
A black bunA black bun
A black bun

Looked burnt, but it was so good and sweet. Had custard in it.
Wujiang RoadWujiang Road
Wujiang Road

This is the classic streetfood street. It's the spot where I had Yang's Fry Dumplings. Yes, it the dumplings drew me back.
Shit on a stickShit on a stick
Shit on a stick

Good shit that is.


12th November 2008

Cop Car.
Picture #47--honey that's a volkswagon
12th November 2008

PIGEON??
U ATE PIGEON?
13th November 2008

Haha. Thanks for noticing MAE!
20th November 2008

"Yes, call me crazy, it is a pretty far walk, but I had just eaten like 5 filling Japanese delicious buns. " i laughed my ass off whne i read this hahhaa

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb