Day 6 - an early morning surf and Paradise Valley


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Agadir
March 9th 2017
Published: March 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So much for not blogging!

Today we were up and out by about seven. Ella and Chakib are going out for an early surf at Crocco. It's a small bay near to Devil's rock. They are surging, I'm watching ... with coffee, well, that's the plan.

Ella is test driving her potential new surf board. It feels good to be out and about early. I got seated at the cliff top, but after watching many people setting off down the beach for the morning walk, I felt a tinge of guilt day doing nothing! Eventually, the guilt got the better of me, I decided to join the walkers! I even threw in a few stretches at the half way point!

Intermittently, I was watching Ella and Chakib in the waves. Chakib is giving Ella a lesson, I enjoy watching them; Ella giving up, Chakib pushing her on.

After walking I now feel that I have in fact earned my cafe au lait, and a sit down! At the first cafe I stopped at, they weren't open yet, the lady said, cinq minuits, then half an hour later, nothing. I moved on to the cliff head, a more traditional Moroccan shack like place looked like it had a bit more life inside, I finally managed to get my well deserved cafe au lait!

It wasn't long after I had placed my order when Ella and Chakib joined me. It was about 10am at this point. Where did that time go? It's a good feeling to have an empty head, relaxed, with no worries!

After coffee, we returned home for breakfast. It makes me smile, watching Ella, managing her living so well in a foreign lifestyle!

Ella and Chakib worked together in the kitchen. The table is set in the salon; we have mixed omelette, tomatoes, cucumber, avocado, amlou, bread, cheese, Heinz beans with sausage (UK treat for Ella and Chakib), and finally a Nespresso cappuccino!

Breakfast was welcome, and very good! Compliments to the chefs!

Today we are driving to Paradise Valley. It's a journey on yet another winding, mountainous region.

Paradise Valley is a section of the Tamraght River valley in the Moroccan High Atlas mountains. It is approximately 20 km north of Agadir. The valley is known for its abundance of rock pools and small waterfalls, and it didn't fail to deliver.

After parking the car, we set off on a 45 minute trek through the mountain, passing various water spots on the way, each one offering food and drinks. We cussed the river at various points over a man made crossing of strategically placed boulders.

We stopped off at a point, about halfway, to give our pre-bought chicken and vegetables. You leave them, set up an eating time, they cook your food into a tagine for you, at your required time.

We got back on the trek, arriving at a beautiful water valley. The rocks are smooth and slippery; the water is clear and cold. So nice! People were jumping from various heights, straight into the pool. It was really hot, sat on the rocks, watching everyone facing their fears, and then so nice to cool off in the water.

At two we set off back on the trek to the place we had left our food...... disaster struck! My much loved, hand made for my short, but very wide feet, leather flip flops from Vietnam....broke..... and were unwearable! Chakib came to the rescue; I wore his trainers, he went barefoot over the very uneven, difficult to walk on, rocky terrain! We were probably about 30 minutes late, but our tagine was there ready and waiting for us as we arrived.

We sat by the river to eat; I sit there thinking, what am amazing lifestyle they lead. Envious!

The remainder of the walk back to the car is the uphill part of the walk, the hardest part, but chatting on the way made it easier.

We drove to Devils rock for coffee before the sunset. Chakib chatted with his friends in the surf whack, Ella and I walked up the rock. Ella stopping by to chat with the horse guy. She was trying to tell him about improving the welfare of the horse, but to be honest, I did feel she was wasting her time, he was clearly stoned!

We sat on the rock, watching the sunset surfers, and chatting about the day. We decided to head off to Sol house for a couple of beers, to watch the sun go down.

Every night I seem to take pictures of the sunset. It's a bit repetitive, but you can't help yourself, as they are so amazing.... every night!

After three beers,Chakib got a call from the barbecue man, the new barbecue is being delivered. Chakib made plans for it to be delivered to his friends, we will collect it on the way home.

It's been a really long, but great day. Ella is getting on with dinner, they eat way more than I do! Then I think it will be an early night for me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.401s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb