Day 7- Early beach walk, family dinner


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Agadir
March 11th 2017
Published: March 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I woke up to the noise of someone walking around, it was about 7.15. I took this as my cue to get up and out for Ella and Chakib's early morning surf. I wanted to go too, as I enjoyed the beach walk yesterday, so decided I would do it again today. I jumped up and got dressed, we can all get showered on our return, before breakfast.

All dressed, sporting the new, disgustingly lilac, flip flops, I called to Ella, to check they are going, "We are thinking about it!", was her reply. So I laid back on the bed, and snoozed!

It was only for ten to fifteen minutes, the we were out the door and in the road. Ella drove, although my heart is in my mouth a lot of the time, I am proud of her, I don't think I would want to drive here! I could get used to driving on the wrong side of the road, but it's the other drivers irrational actions, and the massive amounts of roadworks that are happening here currently. In a couple of years; the small surfing village of Tamraght will be unrecognisable! All the big hotel chains are jumping on board, but I can understand why!

Ella is still working on deciding if this new board is good for her. She seems to be doing a lot better this morning. She is catching more waves. Her difficulty is that she has the patience of a gnat! If she conquers that, the improvement will be there!

A good start to the day for everyone; so now it's back home for a late breakfast. We got home at about 10.15. Ella got the pans on, Chakib was first in the shower, I laid in my bed! Then all change until it all comes together on the table in the salon.

Today, we have fried eggs, sugared onions, tomato, cucumber, avacado (not sure what it is squished with!) bread, and of course, my favourite, amlou!

We chat together about the past, and forthcoming events. Today Chakib's Mum and some other family members are going up the mountain with Chakib to look at some land, also a bit of family visiting, whilst in the area. Ella and I are going down on the beach, more surfing for Ella, along with a bit of sun worshipping, under a brolly, with me.

We have plans to go for evening dinner at Chakib's mums house, but the plans change quickly, and often, so we will see how the rest of the day unfolds.

The beach day was good! I laid, I turned, laid for a while longer, then turned again. It's like spit roasting an animal! But it helps to get an even tan! When I get too hot, it's a nice basting in the sea, reapply the factor 30, then start again. Periodically, I take a rest, once for a cold drink, and a sit in the shade, later for a nous nous, and another sit in the shade! Phew.... it's a hard life in Morocco!

Chakib rejoined us at about four; he joined Ella, she was surfing, I turned again!

When we went up for coffee, it was nice to be joined by Azzedine, who works at Cli Surf with Ella. I haven't seen him for a while, so it was good to catch up.

We went home from the beach at five. We gave Azzedine a lift home too, quite a detour to the far end of Banana Village, but it was worth it, as he's such a nice person!

We all got showered and dressed, as nicely as I could for the occasion. I'm so nervous about tonight. We are going for dinner at Chakib's Mum's house. We are in transit right now; the nearer we get the worse I feel. I feel physically sick.

My mind is taken off it for a short while, as we stopped off to visit Chakib's friend Karim. They are looking at buying his Peugeot 207, but soon we are back on our way, and the nerves kick back in!

What am I so nervous? I think it's the language barrier, she speaks, Moroccan, Spanish and French, all I've got is English, and a bit of broken French! What will I talk about? I'll have to just rely on my amazing natural charm!! So I'll let you know how that goes! ... and breathe!

We wanted to take flowers, or some form of gift, but we are now running so late, it's not possible! Aaarrrgghhh!

Well, that was really good! All of that worrying for nothing! There was so much food. I couldn't believe the size of the chicken pastilla, (bastilla) it was huge! Chakib cut my the largest slice, I had to give h the eye, he cut smaller slices after that, and kept the big one for himself. Thank goodness; I really struggled to eat it all, but did well. I ate about two thirds of my portion. Bastille is a traditional Moroccan dish that is served before the tagine. It is a traditional Moroccan Chicken Pie. It is crispy outside with a cinnamon flavored chicken and almond filling inside, it has a kind of sweet and savoury taste. The crust is decorated with cinnamon.

The next course was a beef with prunes (I think) in a tasty sauce, served with side salad, then we finished with fresh fruit. It was all very nice, and with Chakib translating, and Aya, Chakib's 2 year old neice breaking the ice, it was an easy, welcoming atmosphere. The house was so beautiful too, with it's really ornate, and tastefully coloured plaster work and windows. The whole evening was a pleasure!

Again, it's been a long day. All three of us are yawning, definitely ready for our beds. Earlier today, Ella and Chakib had discussed going to The English Pub for a few drinks; there's not a chance of that happening! Everyone is so tired! It's now 11.25, we are all in bed.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb