mt.kenya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
March 15th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the mountain was incredible. after much to do, getting clothes washed, getting warmer clothes from the rental people (which in itself is an ordeal) and actaully getting to the base of the mountain...4 hours by matatu on terrible roads. Paul Haym your roads here in kenya didn't last. For those who don't know, my boss back home in Vancouver (unless I've been fired) is from Kenya. He tells me he was the greatest enginer kenya ever had. I persoally think he was the only enginer kenya ever had and after he left they did't bother replacing him. The roads in kenya are terrible, for a place that could just as easliy be a 2nd or even first world country.

We stayed the first night in Nanyuki, where we met with our porter and chef. the altitude there nearly killed me. I was huffing and puffing going up stairs.

THe next morning we set out via matatu for the park gate. upon arrival we had lunch, repacked our bags with all the food and cooking gear and set off onthe 9 km walk up the sirimon route. we passed elephants, buffalo and monkeys. The first hut is called old moses
mt.kenya mt.kenya mt.kenya

near the summit
3200m, its a decent hut, no showers or heat. we met some british army folk who were carrying their own gear.

the next morning we set out on the 14 km walk (which felt like a ladder b/c it was so steep in some sections) to shiftons camp, also a hut. this time we were greeted by overgrown rat like creatures and mice, both in and outside of the hut. the elevationhere was 4200 meters and I had a killer headache. We were pushed to summit a day ahead of schedual (we had one day of acclimitization) and went that night at 2 am for the peak (point lenana) we arrived right in time for sunrise. after a vertical scramble up the third highest peak I was so out of breath my head as killing me and I could barely get enough air to walk. The peak was stuning. The sunrise at 6:25 was incredible and it was REALLY REALLY COLD at 4985 meters.

We took a different route down, we went to the met station along the naro moro route. It was 6kms from the peak to the first station for breakfast. 6kms of loose vertical rock.
mt.kenya and memt.kenya and memt.kenya and me

the summit I was damn cold
I fell s few times but managed to arrive around 10 am, starving but felt like i was about to vomit, and my head was literally splitting open.
I shoved some food into my mouth and layed down for a few minutes and took some advil for the huge gapping hole in my head (figurative).
After breakfast we head 14km to the next hut where we were to spend the night. we crossed valleys, bogs, and finally made it but not before our feet, legs and bodies were about to give out.
The last station we were meant to camp, but decided to stay in the hut, b/c it had started raining and we really wanted to sleep well. we were rudley interupped by seikes monkeys jumpingup and down onthe roof of our hut at about 5 am until the momemt we left.

The last day we hoofed it 9 kms to the park gate where we got a ride to the nearest town at a hefty price of $40. after all of this, leaving a day early being exhausted and just wanting to get back to nairobi we took a matatu to town and booked intothe lovely nairobi backpackers .where we are staying until we leave for cairo on the 17th.

In nairobi we just sorta hung out for a few days. We stayed and the awesome Nairobi backpackers and we just took care of business for a few days. Business included buing new glasses b/c they we incredibly cheap. ($35 usd) for exam lenses and frames. Good news, he ships to canada if any of ya'll out there need new glasses but don't want to shel out a few hundered canadian bucks.

We also book our tickets to cairo. For March 17th. I am in cairo right now.

We also took a ride out tothe famous suburb of Karen. This is home to the famous Karen Blixen (was home to the famous...) museum and a good bead factory run by singer mothers.
Since I haven't seen out of africa and wasn't impressed by the name karen blixen we opted to visit the bead factory instead.
The suburd of karen is so un africa. I could hav been in a suburb of bowling green, kentucky, or winnipeg. It was all beautifully lanscaped ranches and mansions. On the way back to our little hostel we came across an amusemnt park simialr to playland in vancouver. Only this amusement park was in the middle of a ghetto. Having been in africa for almost three months, I am not fased (phased?) by the poverty as I used to be. But I havn't seen a township quite this extreme since I was in El Salvador. It was massive and reports are that more than 500,000 people live in this 2x2 sq km area.

Back in central Nairobi we got stuck in one of the traffic jams that plagues big african cities. Matatu's cuttingpeople off left right and centre, people not using signals, stopping their cars for no apparent reason, dropping off passengers, cattle being hearded to the closest water or grass.
Deisle fumes going everywhere, my snot turning black, my head killing me from the rap music and the pollution I look up and see Africas most ugly bird. Sorry everyone, the name escapes me at the moment. Its about 3 feet tall, lives in trees, looks like a deranged stork with a herpes probem. ANyway, there was a family of about 5 in a tree over the traffic jam. It made me smile.

So, now we are in Cairo. Its maddness I tell you, maddness. It looks like a combo of havana, vienna, london and bangkok. It seems fairly safe ,even at night, th eonly disconcerning thing so far is that EVERYONE wants to sell you something, which is ok, because its not an east african curio, and no one drives with their lights on. hmmmm

I can't even begin to tell you about the amount of times I was sure we were about to die in a car accident in the past week. Now my biggest fear is the elevator in our hostel. It is one of those old types withthe sliding doors and moved on an elastic band. Paul doesnt help the matter by jumping up and down while its moving, and I'm not entirely sure our travel insurance covers death by elevator plummet.

Tomorrow Islamic Cairo, Old Cairo.
and a quick fact or two for you all. 5% of Egypt is considered habitable.
and the Egypt Pound is about 6 to the usd



Advertisement



17th March 2006

Wow! I am speachless. What a fete! I love the pics. Enjoy Cairo. When do you leave ? Spring has finally arrived to our fair city. cherry blossoms in bloom etc. But not until after a snow storm. It snowed a lot. Well. Hopefully that is behind us now and when you return....it will probably be raining. Just wait until May and it will be nice again. Your sun tan should last through the rain and you will have a jump start on summer tan. I love you heaps.
17th March 2006

Trip to hell or in hell
I must confess that I get the impression the trip or trek across Africa is not without a little pain and discomfort. Does it ever seem to be a little tougher than expected? I can honestly say I would avoid anywhere where ear infections are a definite possibilty. And of course I am not sure I am ready for hours of discomfort on a train and pre-industrial revolution automobile. Todays pictures look great but the climb for the pictures was a bit ardous n'est-ce pas? I have been a avid rider of your blogs and I shall have to mention to Paul I read a little about him in your blog. (I never knew Paul was from Kenya, I always thought he might be British). Keep up the good work and don't forget about Sphinx. (Not sure how much is left of it so might not be worth a trip) Cheers
17th March 2006

My friend Yuny left for Cairo this morning (Mar 17th) to meet my other friend Lynette there. Lynette is there for 2 more weeks and Yung is spending a month. Look for a short Asian girl with a big backpack eating everything in sight. I'm hoping you cross paths.
17th March 2006

You look frozen
I love the sunrise on the mnt. You look like you're in a freezer. The story is ever entertaining and educational. What's an Egypt pound weigh? ha ha Bring one back! Paul, dont jump in elevators! ciau.
17th March 2006

Awesome
Lucienne - SO JEALOUS. I was hoping my teaching stint in Cusco would be a bit more rife with adventure, but here we are with month two turning into month three and I haven't even been out of the country yet! Thanks so much for all your adventurous tales... I've been having a wicked time living vicariously. How's Cairo? The closest I've been is the reading we did in my intermediate class last week. All the best, kiss a pyramid for me. love Christy
18th March 2006

poster number four..anonymous
hey you! Identify yourself! I must know you from work. thanks for the comments, Lucienne
19th March 2006

wow
That sunrise picture from Mnt. Kenya is just stunning, I want to go there now and do it myself. So you have to do it with a guide, do they provide food and shelter to for this climb up? But good for you and Paul being able to do that! It must be a big shocker now going from the top of the world, or of Africa and going to the crazy streets of Cairo. Watcht out for those taxi cabs and elevators.
19th March 2006

Anonymous was a traveller once
I am Rob, Cindy's friend. We talked a couple of times in the shop. Bona Fortuna
20th March 2006

Bravo!
You guys have really done so, so well. Love, the Bats

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb