What an adventure!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
November 23rd 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Now that's a barbequeNow that's a barbequeNow that's a barbeque

This was our evening dinner......beef, lamb, crocodile (yes, I had some!), chicken and so on. Yum!
Hi everyone!

We're back! I'm sure some of you have been wondering where I've been........well, I've been on the most amazing African adventure. It was like something out of National Geographic! Oh my goodness.......I wish I had my grandchildren, my nieces and nephews with me!!!!! It was unbelievable!

I didn't have internet access so I'm now writing to you from Cairo. We got in a bit earlier, I had a quick bite of supper and am now in my comfy clothes wanting to share some of the adventure with you!

So, just where do I begin? I want to share all of the Nairobi/safari story with you but it would take me a few hours. So you are going to get the Reader's Digest version for now.

We left Dubai and most people slept on the plane as we headed to Africa. Dubai wore us out!!!!!! So much fun in so little time! Unfortunately, we had to sit at the airport in Dubai an extra 2 hours as they had closed the runway for some clean-up! Our tour guides were less than happy! (Mary, I'm sure you may have heard from Ben or Carl about this! Poor
Is that all for me?Is that all for me?Is that all for me?

Nope! That's how they serve it! The chefs come around the tables and give you as much as you choose to have.
Carl was having a very bad day!) Anyway, what that meant was a late arrival into Nairobi and that put us smack in the middle of the worse traffic jams/rush hour I have ever seen! It was a very long (and hot) ride to the hotel! People were tired but quite happy to settle into our rooms. What a nice place! Too bad we weren't hanging around there. But, they did greet us with an extra-ordinary barbeque dinner and dance performances. Wow. What fun! The next day, we were up, had a great breakfast, wandered around the grounds a bit and began to get ready for the 6 hour van ride to the Masai Mara. (I found out later that people are not really fond of Nairobi and call it Nasty-robi!).

Into the vans we piled! And we had the best drive through Africa that we could have wished for. The roads were, well.......not really roads at all. I tried to take some pictures of the huge ruts to show you (so that you/we all have a better appreciation for what we have in Canada!) but I don't think it really shows up in the photos. We saw it
A touching moment at Dubai airportA touching moment at Dubai airportA touching moment at Dubai airport

Me and Tina, having "a moment".
all. Different types of housing, different people and lifestyles, markets, hotels, traffic coming right at us, the geography of Africa that you see in movies and in National Geographic, animals, and so on. The drive turned into a 7 hour adventure because it started to rain and we had to go quite slow. Some people hopped on the charter that Travel Guild arranged so they wouldn't have to take the long van ride. Personally, I wouldn't have missed it for anything. We saw the real Africa! And I loved it! Was it a tough ride.......yup! But we had a happy crew in our van and we had fun! Lorraine (one of the "sisters") had her pedometer on her belt and although we hadn't walked a step (well, not that many steps anyway), I believe her pedometer registered something like 12,000 steps just from all the bouncing we did. How funny is that! We had a blast! The pictures will speak for themselves and I'll leave it at that so I can move on to another part of our African adventure!

Enjoy, and I'll be back with Part 2, which is going to be more pictures of our 7 hour
Coming into NairobiComing into NairobiComing into Nairobi

Very different geography!
drive to the Masai Mara where we stayed for 2 days. There was so much to see along the way, I want to share the pictures with you. (Mark Asbell, you've got to know that you were on my mind while I was there........and, by the way, our stewardess' name is Stella! Go figure!).

Anyway, there are lots of pictures so be sure to enjoy them all!

Back with more......

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Another viewAnother view
Another view

The city is in sight
Coming into AfricaComing into Africa
Coming into Africa

Such interesting scenery
Another view from the skyAnother view from the sky
Another view from the sky

Again, interesting geography
How low can you go?How low can you go?
How low can you go?

These guys were amazing......
Our hotel in NairobiOur hotel in Nairobi
Our hotel in Nairobi

What a beautiful place
Around the hotel poolAround the hotel pool
Around the hotel pool

Tempting, isn't it? (Maureen!)
Our breakfast buffet in NairobiOur breakfast buffet in Nairobi
Our breakfast buffet in Nairobi

Where do you start? The fruit was incredible!
How beautiful is this?How beautiful is this?
How beautiful is this?

We do stay in some lovely places!
Our hotel roomOur hotel room
Our hotel room

They really do use mosquito nets!
Leaving NairobiLeaving Nairobi
Leaving Nairobi

I just can't resist taking pictures of the children.
A fruit standA fruit stand
A fruit stand

Hmmmmmm, those bananas look a bit too ripe for me.
A cafe along the wayA cafe along the way
A cafe along the way

We saw many interesting places......
A strip mallA strip mall
A strip mall

We do have it good in Candada, don't you think?
Water anyone?Water anyone?
Water anyone?

It was a hot day as we headed to the Masai Mara, but I don't think I'd want to drink here.
A cell phone towerA cell phone tower
A cell phone tower

Hey Yan, look what I saw on the way to Masai Mara!!! Thinking of you.....
Want to buy a cell phone?Want to buy a cell phone?
Want to buy a cell phone?

There are some modern conveniences......but there was no internet for me for a few days.
It was a long drive.....It was a long drive.....
It was a long drive.....

Some of us couldn't keep our eyes open at first....
A Nairobi neighborhoodA Nairobi neighborhood
A Nairobi neighborhood

Wanna live here?
Going through one of the villagesGoing through one of the villages
Going through one of the villages

This was a little place along the highway


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb