Our last day in Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
November 19th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Then came the tubeThen came the tubeThen came the tube

This was soooo much fun! I haven't laughed like this in years!
Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow!!!!! Yeah, I know I use that word a lot, but it's just how we are all feeling. We had an incredible day today!! (I woke up with a bit of a headache.........yes, I know.......it was from all the wine that was flowing last night! But weren't those pictures amazing?????? Wish you could have been with us!)

We had a city tour by bus today and my pictures will show you some of "old" Dubai and the billboard that depicts what Dubai will look like in the future with all the construction going on. I took pictures of some of the various types of housing, along the waterfront, our walk through the gold and spice markets (sooks, they are called), and other odds and types of pictures that I found interesting. We took a tour through the museum, and Ron, you would have really enjoyed that. It is extremely well done and so interesting!

After my tour bus dropped me at the Mall, and as I was waiting for Bonnie and Tom to arrive on their bus, I saw a fellow wearing a shirt with Saskatchewan on it. I asked him if that was the
At the snow parkAt the snow parkAt the snow park

Tom and I playing in the snow at the Emirates Mall
Sask. of Canada. Sure enough! He's posted here with the military for 7 months; he lives in Cold Lake. We had a good long chat and I learned a lot about the military activities in Dubai. Didn't know they were here!

Once the bus tour was over, Bonnie, Tom and I headed to the Emirates Mall where the ski slopes are. Gary, the pictures you sent me before my trip were great, but it doesn't compare to actually being there! Bonnie opted to go shopping, while Tom and I decided to play in the snow! What a strange feeling to come in out of the Dubai heat of the day, don a snowsuit and boots and head for the hills. I have never tubed or done the luge before. I can't remember the last time I laughed (or screamed) so much! Tom and I had a blast! And take a look at the pictures of the Arabians playing in the snow too! What fun!

Then we wandered the mall. There was Starbuck's, MacDonalds, and many other familiar stores and lots of new ones too. It was fun to see. The mall is HUGE!!!!!! We only covered the first
On the beachOn the beachOn the beach

Great beach, warm water, beautiful day!
floor (there are 4 levels) and we spent all afternoon there and early evening. You would need a week to do it justice. Does it compare to West Edmonton Mall.........well, as far as vision goes, Yes it does. Otherwise, no. This mall is new, huge, clean, visionary, fun, and has lots to offer. However, there is a new mall under construction that will be the largest mall in the world. This place is booming. 75% of all the building cranes in the world are here in Dubai right now!

So that was our day today. We had dinner at the mall and I had my favorite: salmon and vegetables and loved every taste of it!

Now it's time to pack the suitcase and be up and ready for our flight to Nairobi in the morning. Be still my beating heart. We're heading to our African Safari!!!!!! This is unreal........so many wonderful adventures!

Stay tuned! Don't know what the internet service will be like but, if I am able, you know that I'll be back!

In the meantime, I hope you've enjoyed our stay in Dubai!

My thought for the day: "Why not seize the pleasure
Anne, Tina and Lynn at the beachAnne, Tina and Lynn at the beachAnne, Tina and Lynn at the beach

Wish you could be here too!
at once? How often is happiness destroyed by preparation, foolish preparation!"
-- Jane Austen

There are lots of pictures in this blog. Be sure you get them all (you might need to click on "2" at the bottom of the page; not sure how it will show up for you.......but don't miss the Snow Park ones!)

Happy Pat!




Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

One of the homesOne of the homes
One of the homes

A different type of living
Some apartment buildingsSome apartment buildings
Some apartment buildings

Another choice of living
And another living quarterAnd another living quarter
And another living quarter

Not everyone in Dubai is rich
A famous MosqueA famous Mosque
A famous Mosque

Beautiful building
Plant irrigation systemPlant irrigation system
Plant irrigation system

All wiring and watering is underground.
At the museumAt the museum
At the museum

This one's for you, Ron!
So life-likeSo life-like
So life-like

Still at the museum. This one's for you, Katie! (check out the sewing machine)
At the gold marketAt the gold market
At the gold market

It's dripping gold everywhere here!
Still more goldStill more gold
Still more gold

And some of our people dropped a lot of money here!
At the spice marketAt the spice market
At the spice market

Hey, I could spend a lot of time here
Look at the choicesLook at the choices
Look at the choices

This was fun!
Anyone want a smoke?Anyone want a smoke?
Anyone want a smoke?

How pretty are these?
Future skyline of DubaiFuture skyline of Dubai
Future skyline of Dubai

This billboard depicts what is to come.
Product arriving from ChinaProduct arriving from China
Product arriving from China

Boat after boat, box after box
At the MallAt the Mall
At the Mall

This one's for you, Barb and Ed!
She's hungry!She's hungry!
She's hungry!

Isn't she a cutie?
So are we!So are we!
So are we!

Time for lunch.....at the food court!


19th November 2006

You really are doing it all!!!
Riding a camel, belly dancing, snow tubing ... and still time to update us on your blog ... you go girl!!!
19th November 2006

Well, today Kyle and I are on our own. Moe's hunting and Brody's at a babysitting course, so I thought it would be a great day for him and I to go through all of your pictures. He loved the camel ride. Totally impressed. He asked me why I don't ride a camel. Where would I ever ride a camel? He's still so inquisitive and imaginative. These pictures are right up his alley because I'm sure he thought all of these things were just in his imagination. Anyways..... he's sending you a hug and me too!!
20th November 2006

Kyle, the camels are real!
Hi Pam and Kyle, So nice to get your note. We are up bright and early today as we head to the airport at 9 a.m. for Nairobi. Kyle, if you think the camel is cool, wait till you see the pictures coming up from my African safari. They tell us it is THE big adventure! Enjoy your notes! I wish everyone would take a trip like this.........you wouldn't need any other kind of "high" (drugs, booze, etc.) because we are all flying high from the fun we are having! I haven't laughed this much, nor had this much fun, in YEARS! Stay tuned. There's more to come! Happy Pat
20th November 2006

Unbelievable
This is one trip of a lifetime!!! The water looks so inviting; you would never get me away from it as I love the water so much. SNOW??? can you imagine?? To experience all these different cultures is a real learning experience first hand. I am still unpacking and enjoying our great weather in New Brunswick - can't believe our temperatures.
22nd November 2006

Dear Aunt Pat,how are you? Are you enjoying your trip around the world? I LOVE your postcards! I`m VERY busy here in Stratford. Keep sending us your WONDERFUL e-mails and postcards!
22nd November 2006

I built an airport. I love your postcards. I hope you are happy. Where are you? Alana is good. How do you belly dance?
23rd November 2006

Hi Ben!
How very nice to get your note! I am so glad you are enjoying the postcards and the e-mails! You will really enjoy the pictures of all the animals that I just put up! It was so much fun. I thought about you and how much you would have enjoyed being with me. I am doing fine. Many people on the tour are fighting a cold, but so far I have out-run it! Good thing I'm healthy! Bye for now. It's my bedtime! Love, Aunt Pat

Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb