A Little Bit of a Slump, but Rejuvenated and Ready to Go


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Northern » Tamale
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CookingCookingCooking

These women are tough! They used their hands to move these big pots and handled the food right after it came out of the pot while it was still piping hot.
This week, I worked with Shekinah’s food program where they make different food every day and then drive around Tamale for about 3 hours delivering the food to the 2 Shekinah clinics, the homeless, blind people, and the poorest of the poor.

It’s a great program that follows the tenets of the Shekinah clinic (read blog entry about CRS) and the women who make the food are extremely dedicated, working several hours every morning cooking food. (They don’t get paid, so I’m not sure if they have other jobs or how they sustain their families).

I was a little frustrated because I thought I would be helping out with making the food and distributing it but all I really did was sit and watch. When I asked if there was anything I could to do help, the main lady said “not right now.” When I did help, it was just holding open plastic bags. During the distribution at the clinic, I tried to gather the buckets but the nurse then took them and basically just had me stand there. I got over it though and just tried to enjoy being there and experiencing this program.

Some seminarians also
Food at the ClinicFood at the ClinicFood at the Clinic

Most people get a plastic bag filled with the food, but they bring buckets of food and dish it out into these pans for the patients at the two clinics.
spend time working with the clinic and food program so this week there was a guy there from Burundi. He’s not actually in the seminary yet and is unsure if he will continue with it, but I had a great time talking with him and learning more about Burundi. Thank goodness he was there because he said it’s also difficult for him to eat some of the Ghanaian food, so I didn’t feel so bad when I couldn’t finish my plate since he didn’t either =)

Thomas has another group of Americans (all from a parish in La Canada, CA) traveling around this week. One of the group members works for the Archdiocese of LA so I met her when I was the Social Justice Chair at the Catholic Center. I met up with their group for dinner and had a great time talking with Joan and the rest of the group. Most of them are older (maybe late 50s-early 70s), but their enthusiasm and Catholic fellowship really brightened my day after a bit of a frustrating week. They reminded me of why I’m here. Even if I’m not doing a lot of volunteer work like I wanted to,
OutreachOutreachOutreach

Giving a bag of food and two water bags to a homeless man.
this is still an opportunity of a lifetime and it’s great just to learn about this new culture and be an example of Christ’s love to all the people.

Traveling to the Upper West region next week to see the CRS Health programs so I’m pretty stoked for that! Please pray for safe travels and that I don’t melt in the heat =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Fr. JimFr. Jim
Fr. Jim

The priest at St. Bede's church in La Canada. Can't wait to go visit! And one of the older couples said I could stay at their house when I come (tho it's only about 45 min away from school haha). But maybe they'd be some nice psuedo-grandparents while I'm away from home :)


21st July 2008

Hang in there
What a great experience you are having. We can "see" what you are doing thanks to your interesting stories. Have your goals/plans for your future changed during this trip? Can't wait to reaqd the next entry. Peace.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb