Life in Tamale


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Northern » Tamale
July 9th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Go Cards!Go Cards!Go Cards!

He and his friend stopped to talk to me while I was sitting on the beach and tried to sell me their jewelry every time they passed by even after I told them I only had enough money for a taxi (which was true!)
So far, I've enjoyed my first week in the north of Ghana with my new family. I met Thomas when he was touring the US, talking about his experience growing up and his work with Catholic Relief Services (CRS). Long story short, we kept in touch and he told me I could stay with his family. He's actually traveling with a group of American Catholic high school teachers and people from the CRS Headquarters in Baltimore right now and has two more groups coming throughout July so I don't get to see much of him. But, I've had a great time with his wife Felecia and three little kids Loretta, Kelvin, and Melvin. They have a nice house with a stove and oven(!), a (somewhat) flushing toilet, and a shower (but it doesn't work so we still bathe with a bucket and cup -- I actually kind of like showering this way and think we'd solve the world's water problems if everyone bathed like this).

It's been more of an experience of just living daily life with the family and learning about the culture as compared to volunteer work in Uganda. Though, next week and the week after, I'll be
The boysThe boysThe boys

Melvin (6) on the left and Kelvin (8) while playing outside
working with different organizations so I'm looking forward to that.

Little tidbits of what's happened:
-On the beach in Accra, saw a Cardinals fan!!
-Bus ride from Accra to Tamale was bearable. The bus was much nicer than any transportation in Uganda. It was like a normal tour bus in the US (seats that recline, lights and a/c vents for each seat, tvs). However the movies they played were awful! Even the Africans laughed at how bad they were. There were 6 Nigerian movies, one titled "You & I Forever 2", 3 others that were all sequels. Took about 11 hours with 3 stops for bathroom and food. The country is absolutely beautiful and changes a lot from the south to the north.
-Went to Felecia's sister's house 2 hours away on Sunday to meet Thomas and his group of Americans for a big dinner and gathering with their extended family. Delicious food and lots of cute kids 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Water fightWater fight
Water fight

Loretta (12) and Kelvin drinking out of the same water bag and squirting each other
In BolgaIn Bolga
In Bolga

Jamie's (Felecia's sister) 3 yr old son, Sham, is quite a cutie pie, but also very rambunctious. He wanted to sleep with me but wasn't falling asleep so Jamie took him to his bed. When I opened my eyes in the morning, he was on the edge of the bed waiting for me haha. I love his adorable little smile =)
Such fun kids!Such fun kids!
Such fun kids!

We went for a walk and then the boys wanted piggy back rides. I think they just say "Back me" instead of "give me a piggy back"


14th August 2008

You Would
you would like showering that way you crazy girl!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb