Edit to last blog- please forgive me!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Northern » Tamale
July 4th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I want to give my most sincere apologies to anyone who I offended when I said "Africans are a lot cooler than Americans." In no way did I mean that Africans are better than Americans, or even really that they're cooler people. I think all people are cool and equal and all that good stuff 😊

The other volunteers in Uganda and I had a joke and kept a running tally of all the ways that "Africans are cooler than us (Americans and Canadians)" because we felt utterly incompetent at some of the simplest tasks. For example, African women strap a baby on their back with a piece of cloth, carry something on their head, and a full jerry can of water in each hand... all at the same time. And us white people had trouble carrying 1 or 2 jerry cans. One time, 2 others and I took a bike to the pond and had 4 jerry cans on it. As we were crossing the road on to the dirt driveway, all pushing one bike, the bike toppled forward spilling two of the cans and we each fell on top of the whole mess. Some Ugandans nearby had a good laugh at us.

So all I meant was that African people can do a lot of things that we can't (and I'm sure if I looked for examples the reverse would be true as well; i.e. using a microwave). And I think my comment was in context with all the guys wanting to marry a white person, so I just meant that there are many many amazing African women around so I wish they would stop paying so much attention to us white girls. On the upside, now that I walk around with Ghanaians, I have less people bombarding me.

Again, I'm sorry for offending anyone or sounding like I was bashing Americans. I am still American at heart and love our country. Happy 4th! Light some extra sparklers for me 😊

Advertisement



4th July 2008

You are Special
Dear Monica, I'm glad you haven't accepted any offers of marriage yet, but I do think you're a really COOL young woman. You may not be able to carry a couple jerry cans of water while walking a bike, but your kind and caring heart and strong work ethic more than make up for it. Don't underestimate your special abilities. I'm so proud of you. Looking forward to hearing what you're doing in Ghana and what the bus ride from Accra to Tamale was like. Miss you. Love, Mom
7th July 2008

Just read the whole thing
Hi Monica. I just read the whole website (I hadn't been keeping up). Very interesting. It sounds like a great experience, although a little bittersweet because of all the people that need help. Looking forward to hearing more details when you get back.
8th July 2008

Monica, no one should take anything you have said personally. You are experiencing something that the rest of us can not even fathom. There is no disputing the people you are helping have it a LOT harder and worse than most of us here. I am really enjoying your blogs! Did not realize you were so expressive. Take care.
8th July 2008

perspective
No offense taken, Monica, and keep up the great blogging! We enjoy reading your narratives, whether joys or frustrations, and appreciate your honesty. Reading about Ugandans or Ethiopians or whomever helps put other concerns in perspective...I find after I read your blog I complain alittle less about such insignificant things as mosquitos, household odors, gas prices, etc. etc. and I pray alittle more. Thanks for sharing!

Tot: 0.387s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb