Farewell Ghana not goodbye


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Eastern » Mpraeso
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello
I am now heading towards my last 24 hours here in the Kwahu region of Ghana as I leave for the airport tomorrow at 1pm.I have mixed feelings about my departure but will probably not fully appreciate what I have learnt etc until I have settled back home.

Last Wednesday I went to Kumasi with Susan and I collected my passport with my extended visa.We were lucky to find a taxi driver who took us all the way to Kumasi for the same price as a tro tro.This meant a comfotable 2 hour journey straight through instead of a stop start one.

Thursday and Friday I went into school and we finished the PE lesson on Friday with over 100 kids doing the Hokey Cokey - what a brilliant sight.The lessons go really smoothly now as the kids all know the format of getting into lines and relay races etc.In fact,it is often the teachers who cause the hassle as they often claim they are sick and cannot come up to the field to help.

On Saturday I found a place to watch the Chelsea v Man City game for 50 pesawas,about 26p so I was a happy bunny.It looks like the Premiership title will go right to the end of the season and I am glad that I will back to watch it properly.

On Sunday the local team were going to stage a 'leaving' match for me but unfortunately it had to ba called off due to a waterlogged pitch.The thought was nice though.

Yesterday I gave the orphanage nursery a few things inc an alphabet wall chart.The classroom looks nice and colourful now.I popped into school again and helped with an English lesson for 7/8 year olds.In the afternoon I bought some more chickens for the coup.We discovered last week that all the chickens bought so far have been male,not much good for laying eggs!! I am glad I will not be around when they all mature and start crowing!! There are now 10 'laying' hens that are already producing eggs which will give the orphanage more choice for food and the opportunity to sell some as well.Last night all 4 volunteers from the orphanage went to Francois bar in Obo for a farewell drink.I also had a pancake which was very welcome.

This morning I have just done my last PE lesson with the 3 classes in upper primary.There were 46 kids today and in a highly competitive lesson it finished 4 points to both teams.They are playing a football match tomorrow morning against the Methodist school so I will watch some of that after I have checked in for my flight.

I will write another blog when I get home to sum up my time in Ghana.I have been unable to download pictures this week as there have been real problems with the servers at 3 of the internet cafes.

I will try to bring some sun home with me tomorrow and I look forward to catching up with you at some point in the near future

Coral x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb