A miserable day in Alexandria...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria
February 13th 2008
Published: February 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello to all!

Thank you all very much for your birthday wishes. I wish i could only say that it was the best birthday ever, sadly it was probably the worst!!!! I have pretty much recovered from the fever but the worst was yet to come.....

I decided to stay in Alexandria instead of going out into the desert which turned out to be a very good decision! The night before my birthday we celebrated my birthday at a very nice restaurant right on the mediterranean - the view was spectacular!!! Following dinner and alot of confusion over our bill we went downstairs to this beautiful cafe fulled with fairy lights, gas burners, gorgeous music and the smell of sweet sheesh. We all sat down and ordered warm drinks and before i knew it 'happy birthday' was blaring out in spanish (yeah i know weird - but it was the most beautiful version ive ever heard) and the biggest chocolate cake ive ever seen topped with sparklers : ) It was so lovely but not the same without all my family and friends.... That evening we got back to our hostel (stunning view right on the mediterranean but the most dingey and cold hostel yet!) and it all started....For the first time on this trip i was crook (i know gross too much info but this was the start of something truely horrible)

The next morning we were due to leave at 7am to make our way out into the desert. I had been up quite a few times and thought it was a good sign not to go as we would be sitting on a public bus for the next 9hrs...So ryan and i decided to stay behind in alexandria. As we couldnt go to greece we decided to splurge a little on accommodation for the next 4 nights in alex. We are staying at the Renaissance - OMG it is amazing just like a 5 star hotel back home. Price is pretty good too! After our mission hike to our new hotel we chilled out. For the next 24hrs i was pretty much chained to the toilet. I was so sick i thought i was going to die!!!! Every half an hour i was going to the loo. It was the worst experience of my life...Not the kind of thing you hope to be doing on your 22nd birthday thats for sure!!! I was starting to get really worried as i was not getting better. After some tablets and good sleep i woke up this morning feeling ok - very drained but ok. I plan to spend the next few days taking it easy before my next tour. I fly out to Nairobi on the 16th of Feb. I will have a 12hr wait at the airport before flying to Arusha. I am feeling very grateful that i made the right decision staying in Alexandria!!

I hope everyone is well and i cant wait to see everyone when i return. I am looking forward to starting the next part of my journey as i am fed up here.

Lots of love and kisses!!

Jess xoxoxox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb