jess+Nairobi airport+14hrs (and the imfumus desk 6 ahhh) = HELL!!!!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!!!

Finally got to some internet...So have lots of catching up to do....I'll begin with the nightmare travel from Egypt to Nairobi....

Excited at the prospect of finally going to east africa i got on my plane late at night to fly to nairobi. I thought all was well but had a terrible flight...It was so bumpy and i was scared the whole flight so didnt sleep a wink...Relieved to touch down safe and sound i couldn't get off that plane quick enough - only to find that everything was closed and there was no one around. It was 4am. I went to the visa check to go out and get my bags only to find i wasn't allowed even thou i already had my visa. I was too tired to argue. The man told me to go to desk 6 and they would help me get my bags....I walked all the way back to desk 6 but there was no one there....I walked back to the visa check and told him no one was there. He then referred me to another lady who told me that desk 6 would open at 5am...promptly at 5am i walked back to desk 6 and they said no you have to go through the visa check in....bloody hell im thinkin at this point...Again walked back to visa check in and told the lady and she said no you have to see the manager,...I went to the manager and guess what he told me.....No desk 6!@!!! AhhhhhHHHH i was really loosing my patience now....Finally after going back to stupid desk 6 for the 10 millionth time they understood me. To cut a very long and annoying story short they lost my bags for around 12hrs. So thinking i would be spending my 12hr wait (which turned into 14hrs) bored out of my brain doing nothing, was completly wrong. It was very very stressful i was tired, frustrated, scared, annoyed, wanted to scream and cry at the same time and did i mention tired... I spent the last two hrs at the bar having a drink - thought i deserved it : )

This was only the begining......

My flight from nairobi to kilimanjaro was also horrid....It was a tiny plane with prepella things so i was freaked out....I swore i would never go on a small plane again after the mackay experience (dad u know what im talkin bout) this was worse!!!!!!

After coming through customs i was suprised to see a little man holding a piece of paper saying 'Jessica - kumuka'....cool i thought dont have to battle with the taxi drivers....the joining hotel was still 45kms away - ok didnt know this, was annoyed at how far i still had to go but all was ok cause id be there soon enough....or would i..????

I arrived at the joining hotel in arusha shocked to find out my tour had already left!!!!! SHITTTT!!!!! this was the breaking point for me and i just burst into tears....i had now been awake for 24hrs straight and i was terrified.....They had left me a note saying where they were so i had to get back in the cab id just been in for 45kms and he kindly drove me another 40kms to where they were...It cost me $100 us dollars but thankfully i finally arrived into the very welcoming arms of my new group. There are 11 of us.....10 aussies and 1 pom. They are all really nice.....

Spent and amazing two days at the serengeti and nogororororororor crater (cant remember how to spell it hahaha) We have seen all the 'Big 5' animals which so sooooooooooo amazing. I have fallen in love with this place....We had a herd of elephants literally standing 5m or less away ive never felt to excited and scared at the same time. I could hardly take pics i was shaking so much. They are amazing creatures...I want one : ) Another highlight was a couple of lions walked right up to our 4wd and sat there it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooo cool!!!!!!!! Well im running out of time will write more soon. Am off to zanzibar for 4 days tomorrow cant wait....its a beautiful island!!!! miss everyone sooooo much cant wait to see you all..Will try and write soon not much internet here....\


HOpe everyone is well

lots of love,

jess xoxoxoxoxoxox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb