And the tanks continue to roll in...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
April 26th 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tanks protecting the Libyan EmbassyTanks protecting the Libyan EmbassyTanks protecting the Libyan Embassy

This is right at Stew's front door - I only took one shot as I wasn't keen on sticking around.
When political probems arise within a country the Australian Government is quick to warn travellers to avoid all protests and demonstratons - well this has been a bit difficult for us lately as we have had to walk through one everyday to get to Stew's appartment! Unfortunately, Stew lives opposite the Libyan Embassy here in Cairo so as you can imagine it sure is a hot spot right now. The crowds have been gradual but today is by far the biggest and as I sit on the couch typing I can hear chanting, clapping and screaming from the crowd. It's actually so large now that since I was home 2 hours ago the Military have called in back up and have now positioned two tanks on the corner of the street together with armed soldiers on each. The pic I have included here was taken 10 minutes ago and I was careful to ask a few of the men if it was OK before I snapped away. I then quickly retreated.

It would only take one very angry person or crackpot to lose it at a demonstration and it would be all on. Just look at what they are doing
The Interior MinistryThe Interior MinistryThe Interior Ministry

One of the main Government buildings that was burnt back in January. The terracotta building is the magnificent Egyptian Museum - if that had gone up it would have been a tragedy to lose all the antiquities.
to the Syrian protesters. I must say we were very lucky with the timing of our travel to Syria as that country is now a DO NO TRAVEL zone. Stewart always stressed the difficutly in getting out of Syria quickly should anything happen while we were there so I'm glad I'm now out.

While I was at the souq today there was another demonstration proceeding down the street. I went the other way so not to be near the action but it was another reminder that things are not finished here. Tahir Square may have been cleaned up (with trees and grass planted overnight) and the people may be happy with Mubarak's exit but they are still angry and if the Military don't follow through with their promise to allow free elections, then things will get ugly again. There will be no further comment from me about Military though, as a guy was jailed here in Cairo last week for three years for blogging about them. Another indication that things are not well here.

There are also no police (the police were Mubarak loyalists) so crime could easily get out of hand. I think that's been another reason
CairoCairoCairo

Arial view of downtown Cairo showing the main building that was burnt
why I have experienced so much unwanted attention while walking alone. Some of the men simply cannot take 'no' or 'go away' for an answer. I have had two stalkers and when I say stalkers, I mean that they have followed me for a long way and when I have tried to lose them they are still right on my tail. Both times I have had to confront them and sternly tell them to get lost. One guy drove past me in his car on a main road and when he saw me he breaked and reversed 100 metres in the crazy traffic!!!! With his window down he tried to talk to me but I kept on walking in the opposite direction saying La La La (No, no, no). He then reversed again and again to try and catch up with me. Once I thought I had lost him, 10 minutes later I spied him sitting in his car ahead of me waiting for me to walk past - he had gone around the entire massive block (all Cairo streets are one way). As soon as I saw him I crossed the road and only then did he give up.
Tanks rolling inTanks rolling inTanks rolling in

A view from Stew's balcony
After travelling through many countries on my own over the years, I don't think I have had to deal with so many annoying and creepy locals. It's up there with India girls so be prepared!!!

So as I sit here typing to the chants of freedom while watching revolutions in Yemen and Syria unfold on CNN and BBC, it jolts me into reality and reinforces how on the edge this region is right now and and that what is happening is history in the making for the entire Middle East.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



27th April 2011

Hi, I came across some of your blogs while scoping out a possible South American trip for me and my wife. And I must say they are very readable and informative. In fact, after reading about your epic journey around South America, I read some of your Middle Eastern jaunts too, which were especially interesting as I have been to many of the same places (in fact I live and work in the Middle East.) Anyway, keep up the good work and just so you know, I have reccomended you (a button I pressed in your profile).

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb