Pyramids and the Opera house


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
December 13th 2008
Published: December 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have almost spent a week in Cairo by now and it feels good to stay in the same place for a while. I decided to sleep in a dorm so I get to meet other travellers and I don't feel as lonely.

Yesterday I finally went to see the pyramids and it was indeed very exiting. The bus was the cheapest way to get there and when stepping out I was quite surprised to discover that the pyramids are actually surrounded by a big city ! You usually don't get to see that on the postcards 😊

Two days ago, I got invited to the Cairo Opera House by an egyptian friend who had a his best friend playing violin there. It was quite an experience to listen to an orchestra playing arabic music and I had a great time.

I should get my passport back tomorrow, hopefully with a visa for India. With the paperwork finished, I'll probably head of to Suez and then towards the read sea on Monday.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

BernickBernick
Bernick

That's formy brother Maxime :)
Cairo from aboveCairo from above
Cairo from above

I sneaked into the hilton hotel and went to the last floor to get the picture.
Hard to find a suit and a tieHard to find a suit and a tie
Hard to find a suit and a tie

It'a mandatory to enter the opera house. Hamad's my Egyptian friend who kindly lended me what I needed.
ConcertConcert
Concert

An orchestra playing arabic music


14th December 2008

That shirt came in handy! I knew it would.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb