Galapagos- La Tierra


Advertisement
South America
August 16th 2010
Published: August 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Una VistaUna VistaUna Vista

I'm pretty sure this was the island of Bartolome. We walked to a mirador and this was our reward...
I returned from the Galapagos about a week or so ago. It has taken me a while to sort through a plethora of pics and figure out how to put the whole thing into words. For this leg of my trip, I think the pictures will do most of the talking...

This was the big splurge of my summer in Ecuador. It was a big change from eight dollar hostel rooms to eight days on a boat. But Id be lying if I didnt say it was worth it... Its possible to travel to the islands independently, but most of the islands are part of the national park and are accessible only by private boat and an accompanying guide. So I shelved my avoidance of group tours, found an Ecuatorian travel agency and booked a "last minute deal" on the motorcruiser Treasue. Eight days aboard a 90 foot boat with 13 other tourists from round the world... Our dining room was filled with German (mostly), Spanish, Porteugese, Turkish, and a few sprinklings of English. My room was amazing with a little porch to chill overlooking the water- definitely the best digs of my trip.... To summarize the service: the crew left a different towel sculpture on my bed at least twice a day. With chocolate. Enough said. We did most of our traveling across the sea during the night and WHOA did that boat rock. I learned how to keep my balance while sleeping which kept me from falling out of bed. After a few nights, I grew to love traveling the water....

Without much prior knowledge of what to expect, I embarked on this trip with wide eyes.... Its amazing that it only takes two hours by air to arrive 1000 km into the sea- and a world away. The place definitely holds a mystique. Guide books describe the Galapagos as magical. They are revered as the inspiration for the theory of evolution (which evidently is only partially true...) Therefore, this ameteur blogger is feeling the pressure to paint an appropriate picture, so go easy on me...

The islands themselves are made of volcanic rock- so instead of the green lush tropics of my imagination, they actually feel more like another planet. The archipelago contains 19 islands- which formed as underwater volcanoes sent lava through the cracks in the earth's tectonic plates. Millions of years ago. The geology was a lot for me to wrap my head around- each island had a different feel. Brown beaches. White beaches. Even a beach with a green sheen. But the real impression-maker were the animals. So- I have saved another entry just for the animals...

The land itself has an interesting feel. Like the world is sharing a secret with you. At times, I was frustrated that I wasnt able to bust free of the confines of my tour group and go for a run or discover a hidden nook. But the national park guides keep pretty close tabs on you and dont let you get too far out of their site on most of the islands. I suppose that was the only down side to the whole experience. I was able to escape for a run on one of the populated islands which probably kept me sane....

If you have the chance... GO. Definitely invest in some sea sickness prevention, charge up your camera to the max, bring a dear loved one to share the experience with (in case your GermanSpanishTurkish is a little rusty) and be ready. To see sea iguanas spitting salt on some of the worlds best real estate. To snorkle with sea lions that swim up to your face, stare at your eyes and then dart underneath you. To scramble over lava rocks, dodging the amazing, cartoonish blue footed booby. It is definitely a place to just watch and enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

IsabelaIsabela
Isabela

This is an inland lake known for its pink flamingos. Alas, we only spotted one...
HappyHappy
Happy

From the deck...
Maria Delores y yoMaria Delores y yo
Maria Delores y yo

My friend- the Brazilian firecracker and the most stylish grandmother ever.
BBQBBQ
BBQ

Did I mention that our chef was ridiculously amazing?


25th August 2010

You make me wanna go there!!!
Wow, is all I can say. What a trip! Wondrous sights...I can't wait til Sept. when we get to see more pics and hear more of this adventure! So glad you're coming home after all these weeks in Ecuador. Time to start your new life!! Can't wait to give you a hug!
27th August 2010

Galapagos and more!!
What beautiful pictures! I'm so glad you chose to go on your break between jobs! Lots of wonderful memories while you are working! It sounds like you made some wonderful friends! I'm looking forward to seeing the rest of your pictures with naration from you! Does it feel wonderful to be back in the U.S. of A??? Welcome home!! Love you! YAYA
7th January 2011

love your blogging
I am enjoying reading your Ecuador blogs. Love your writing style. Best I have read so far. How did you travel within the country, bus? How was that? My wife and I are going to Ecuador Feb 1 2011 for more than 2 months. Wasn't thinking we would go to the GI.... but after reading this... maybe we will. How much was the 8 day boat ride? Would you fly to GI instead if you had the money? Any other info about places you stayed on your trip that you liked a lot, and not too expensive would be helpful. Our 2008 blog is at mytb.org/williamandchristina Warmly William william@florianmusic.com

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb