Arriving in Lima


Advertisement
South America
November 16th 2009
Published: November 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a 26hr journey I finally arrived in Peru at 7am on 16th Nov your time, 2am Lima time. My flight was delayed so I was a little concerned that the taxi scheduled to collect me from the airport would have left and I would have to arrange another in my broken Spanish while exhausted but fortunately the driver was there waving a board with my name on when I arrived. (I have always wanted to be met by someone with a nameboard, I don´t know why but it was very exciting!)

The Spanish I have been trying to learn paid off in the taxi, I had a good conversation with the driver who gave me lots of advice and tips on things to see. The journey through Lima was eye opening - I saw children of possibly just 6 years of age juggling in front of traffic at red lights for money (and this was 2am!) and other children sleeping on pavements. There were also a lot of police on street corners with guns.

I am staying in Miraflores, I took a recommendation from Jamie and the hostel I am at is great (and has free internet access hence the update...) Thanks for the advice Jamie! I am really near the coast so spent today exploring the local area and walking along the beach. It is really hot and sunny, I got a bit red on my shoulders because early on it was cloudy so I didn´t put suncream on, I won´t be doing that again!

Peruvians LOVE dogs. Nearly every person I have seen has a dog in tow, it makes me really miss Flax. There are a lot of stray dogs too though and they aren´t in good shape at all. Jim and Andy - you complain about fussy pet owners but I have passed three veterinary surgerys today and as well as the normal 24hr medical care they each offered 24hr emergency dog grooming - I can just imagine Jim´s response if a client called at 3am demanding a quick wash and blow dry for their poodle!!

Kirsty - you will be pleased to know that while I haven´t yet seen a live Alpaca, I have seen plenty of Alpaca related shops and will send you an Alpaca postcard just as soon as I have worked out how to ask for stamps in Spanish!!

Tomorrow I am going to brave the buses and head into central Lima, I want to see the cathedral and some of the museums and also see some of the less touristy places. Then I need to make a decision on whether I get a flight to the very north of Peru to Iquitos (in the Amazon basin) as I may not have time after the volunteer project, or whether I will head south and go to Paracas and the national park (where there are flamingoes and penguins). I will keep you updated!

More to come soon.... love to all, Katrina x

Advertisement



18th November 2009

hello!
Hey you! It all sounds very exciting, I want to come travelling - keep having a great time and I look foward to more updates! Nothing wrong with 24hr dog grooming...

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.3kb