Arrival in the Amazon


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
November 19th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi all! Just arrived in Iquitos in the Amazon, north of Peru. I flew here from Lima this morning and got in around 1pm, have spent the time since trying to acclimatise to the VERY hot weather conditions, apparently it is about 32 degrees today and that is normal. Got to my hostel in one piece, took recommendations from a Canadian girl I spent time with in Lima - thanks Tanya! Hostel is great, certainly the word rustic comes to mind but there is a central courtyard garden which you look out on from each room and is full of jungle plants and is gorgeous.

Flight here was absolutely amazing! First we went over the Andies, where some of the peaks seemed to reach up almost to the plane. Then we came over the Amazon, which was just stunning. The airport was, well, different I would say! The plane just stopped in the middle of the runway and we all got off and grabbed our bags and just left, no passport control, no anything really! I came in on LAN airlines, I get the impression that most backpackers use Star Peru as they are a bit cheaper but it did mean I arrived at a different time and wasn´t mobbed by mototaxi drivers and could calmly negotiate a price for a proper taxi which was nice.

Although I am not sure yet what my plan for the next five days is (as I return to Lima on Tuesday) I do hope to visit Belen floating shanty town and maybe do a jungle trek, and hopefully go to the butterfly farm near here.

Ooh.... this is different... as I am sat here typing this a little lizard has just crawled onto the table and is giving me eyes, don´t think he likes me being here! You certainly don´t get that happening at home!

Thanks for the messages all - nice to log in and receive them. I am now off out for some food. I met a Greek guy on the plane who then turned up at the same hostel so he is joining me. He has long hair and a beard, and only bought a guitar with him. Tomorrow he is off into the Amazon to perform rituals and learn traditional survival for twelve days. He has a Mancurian girlfriend and two Manc children at home in Greece - sure the conversation will be very interesting! I am also hoping someone I met in Lima may also turn up at the hostel here tonight or tomorrow, he knows a good guide so would save me hunting one out and bargaining in bad Spanish!

Take care all, and I will too :D

Katrina x

Advertisement



20th November 2009

Iquitos
Hi Kat sounds really nice there. The floating town will be interesting and a jungle trek would be good. Are there lots of spiders? What is the food like? Can you put any photos on the blog or is that too difficult? Raining and raining in the UK- bad flooding in the lake district. Could do with some of that sun! Love Mum
22nd November 2009

Butterflies
Watch out for the butterflies - I think you can get absolutely gigantic ones out there! Am amazed at how quick you have been off the mark in exploring, I'll bet you're glad for Michel Thomas now. We saw masses of lizards in Africa, and reading your post makes me realise how much you get used to little things like that! I miss those funny little critters here. Our birds have been going through their food like crazy this week - I think they feel winter on its way. Bet you're not missing that! Love Cat x

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb