Sorry for the long delay!!


Advertisement
South America
July 31st 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am so sorry it's been such a long time since I updated! In my defense, I tried to write an entry once, but the Huyro internet (slow and unreliable at best) kicked me off and deleted it, and last weekend I was in a place without internet, but still, sorry! I'll try my best (with the assistance of my journal) to update you all a bit...

The festival on Friday was fun... lots of music and parades and street food; the icing on the cake was when we were all walking back to Establo and passed a marching band, who all started whistling at us, a group of girls, in good fun... and as we were past them, a tuba made a falling noise, from high to low. Hilarious. I went to Cusco with a group on Friday, and I once again made the mistake of forgetting to use the bathroom before leaving... the bus from Huyro stops once, in Alfamayo, for food and bathroom, and it's a LONG way to Cusco. Turned out to be quite the trip overall, though... after cramming 7 of us into a taxi, we arrived at the hostel, where we crammed 6 of us into a triple (2 to a bed is one way to deal with the cold Cusco nights, I guess). Next morning, we woke up to go rafting for the day, and that was another 2 hour bus ride, through absolutely beautiful countryside... Colorado-esque. Rafting, although not my favorite thing, was really fun, down class I, II, and III rapids with people from Scotland, Brasil, England, and Chile... the water was ice cold, and the sauna at the end was awesome (not from steam, but from a woodburning stove, and the wood they burn here smells incredibly good).

After getting back to Cusco, we hit up one of the restaurants in Gringo Alley (stragne name, yes) for one of the 10 sole 3-course meals, and then went clubbing.... which was fun, but not as fun as in Puerto Maldonado, namely because the clubs here are filled with tourists and the clubs in Puerto are full of locals, and the music is better. I left to go back to our hostel at 2:30 or so. Next day was a bit trying.... fun in the morning, but all the afternoon buses and combis were full when we arrived at the station area, so we ended up needing to change plans, and take the late bus. I'm finding myself really adaptable, though, so 5 minutes later I was just fine, while the others were a little bit frustrated all day. Just another adventure, if you ask me... Fun to just sit in a quiet plaza and watch people, then have a nice meal, and people-watch at the bus station again while we waited for our bus... people milling around with huge bright-colored parcels, flatbread the size of a wheel, kids, taxis, dogs.... quite the scene. Our bus left at 9:00 pm, we rolled in to Huyro at 1:45, and were asleep by 2:30. Needless to say, it was quite the weekend of travel.... and really memorable.

The next week was a bit rough, as I hit the point where the novelty wears off a bit. I was half home, daydreaming, all week, but the weekend (which I will come to momentarily) fixed it. During the week, we visited and cleaned a great site up the mountain, had a hands-on archaeological mapping lesson from Jhon, lectures about history, trips tovarious Inca sites, and met the next group of 2-weekers (high schoolers who come for a short stay)... another Minnesotan!

The weekend was spent at Cocalmayo Hot Springs in Santa Teresa, which is reached by THE scariest road on earth, I am convinced. It would be sketchy as a one-way, and it´s not. Curvy, cliff on the left, overhang on the right, and SO high... but the springs were great. 3 natural pools, with a huge sweeping view, and camping... we stayed the night and did the springs again in the morning. I went back to Huyro the next day with 2 other people, and we relaxed at Establo, and cooked flatbread to take down to the river for a picnic... perfect relaxing weekend.

My time is running out, so I'm going to skip the last week and just say that I'm currently in Ollantaytambo to do some logistics (i.e. use fast internet and phone), and will probably head back to spend a cheap weekend in Huyro before leaving for good on Wednesday for Cusco, to meet my family on Thursday! Very excited for that...

Hope all is well; I will try to update again sometime this weekend, perhaps, but thank you all for your comments and messages.... even though I don't reply, I do read them, and really appreciate your notes! Can't wait to see you all in person soon!

Advertisement



31st July 2009

Hi!
John has forwarded all of the blogs to me - I have loved all of them. I know your family is very excited to see you and be in Peru. I am very jealous - I hope you find Machu Pichu as magical as we did - we can't wait to talk to you about it.
1st August 2009

see ya soon!
Looking forward to our vist-be there in less than a week! Assuming all my travel plans actually work...... Love, dad
2nd August 2009

hey you
so you say "see you soon"... when will you return to the states> i'm bumming around minnesota for a while, so perhaps we will see each other>
2nd August 2009

WOW!
Laura, Your mind must be overflowing with all of the experiences you're having this summer. I'm glad you're journaling; it would be sad to forget a moment of it. Can you imagine your family climbing the wrong mountain in CO? (Probably cuz your dad forgot the maps). They will be so happy to see you; have a marvelous week with them, and we'll be happy to see you at home.
4th August 2009

that road you are describing to get to Santa Teresa was the road we took to get to the hidroelectrica plant with 18 people in a van including one on the roof!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb