The Sun Dance kid


Advertisement
South America
November 25th 2006
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

At 2950m above sea level Tupiza is ringed by the rugged Cordillera de Chicas. Surrounded by amazing landscape of rainbow coloured rocks, hills, mountains and canyons, deep gorges and is reminiscent of the American Wild West. Hence, please don’t fall of your SEAT at the site of me on a horse. This is actually part of the area where Butch Cassidy and the Sundance kid was filmed and therefore it would have been rude for me to have not ventured on a horse riding tour.

Most of the actual movie was filmed approx 6 hours from here and as I had never watched the movie decided to make my own! I was only supposed to do a 3 hour tour but was enjoying myself so much that I decided to continue for the whole day even though I had no food or water. It was so much fun though. The horses literally just followed each other and when one would start galloping they would all just start. How I did not break my neck I do not know as the guides were about 14, didn’t speak a word of English and there was absolutely no explanation of how to control your horse or what to do……This all added to the adventure and it is amazing how you soon work it out.

Within an hour of the tour one of the horses kicked back and unfortunately one of the guys called Nick happened to have his leg in the way. He turned a paler shade of green then grey and we all wondered whether he had a fracture, thankfully a few Nurofen later he seemed to be better. I don’t think he walked properly for days mind!

Later back in town I met several people who had fell off and even though I had a numb bum was considering taking it up as a hobby. Apparently When I went back the guide had translated that I was a natural. Natural nutter probably, no fear and stupid as! (or stupid ass)

Not sure my holiday insurance would have been impressed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Riding, Riding RidingRiding, Riding Riding
Riding, Riding Riding

A well deserved rest
Riding, Riding RidingRiding, Riding Riding
Riding, Riding Riding

The baby guide preparing the baby horse´s to be part of the group. It´s a whole family affair
Riding, Riding RidingRiding, Riding Riding
Riding, Riding Riding

The river crossing.....hairy experience
Riding, Riding RidingRiding, Riding Riding
Riding, Riding Riding

So authentic all we needed was hats and sheriffs badges. We later found out that this railway was still in use.


1st January 2007

cant work out who has the biggest ass
the hores just has it I would say! looks really great! thats where I should be. just cant tear my self away. keep going girl. wooooha
4th January 2007

On a horse
nice pics nat looks loads of fun its a shame your driving hasnt improved even with less horsepower,using a used line look for the signs.Ha glad you all made it safely tho do take care always. speak soon x x
5th January 2007

What's that you say your a natural ole ride????????????? I've never noticed pmsl!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb