Laki Touchdown


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
August 27th 2012
Published: August 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am pleased to say I have at last had contact from Laki. It would seem mobile signal is sparce on the Inca trail - hardly surprising. She is doing fine, having a great time and quote "been walking at the back having a private tour with Ricardo"....the mind boggles. Apparently it is hard work but do-able. Tonight is her last night on the trail and I am looking forward to having my travelling companion back with me tomorrow.

As for me, I reluctantly said goodbye to the wonderful Tambo del Inca hotel and took to the streets of Urubamba, with my lovely guide Mariella, to sample some real Peruvian local life. Our first stop was a Ceramica... and I was very fortunate to meet an amazing artist, Pablo Seminario. His work is on display at the Chicago Museum and it has also been displayed at the Smithsonian - in one hit I fell in love with his work. Certainly worth the visit, and great to see the entire process of creating beautiful ceramics.

Next stop was the local market and a taste of local street food (delicious and no upset stomach!) not sure if health and safety back home would be keen on the dogs roaming around the meat stalls, but it was fascinating to see real Peruvian life. Fantastic.

Lunch was at the hostel, owned by Mariella, Arco Iris del Puente. I was given a cookery lesson by Wilson the chef - creole soup and a chicken with rice dish. Peruvian food is simply delicious. (although you do get a lot potato dishes - well they do have 3,000 varieties to choose from!)

My final stop of the day is Aguas Calientes - or Machu Picchu town. The train journey along the Urubamban Valley was stunning, towering rock faces and Inca ruins alongside the raging Urubamba river. Unfortunately I cannot say Aguas Calientes is quite so spectacular - i have come down to earth with a very large bump, but that is another story....


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Motor TaxisMotor Taxis
Motor Taxis

They are everywhere!


Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb