Laki's Return


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
August 28th 2012
Published: August 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Laki is still out on the Inca trail somewhere but hopefully she will surface sometime this afternoon. It is a bit overcast today but I am hoping she had some magnificent views of Machu Picchu on her arrival at the Sun Gate this morning. Let's hope The clouds didn't spoil that moment.

As for me, early start, up and out of the hotel by 6am. Not that I slept much - La Cabana is number 4 out of all hotels in aguas calientes, boy if this is number 4 I would hate to see what the others are like. Paper thin walls, noisy streets outside and generally not much going for it? Although I guess it is clean and the staff are pleasant.

So this morning I did my own bit of hiking - 6 hours and 12km. Up into the cloud forests with Erwin to see local wildlife and birds. Lots of humming birds, orchids, flycatchers, and all sorts other varieties - too many to remembeR, apart from my personal favourite "cock of the rock", which is the national bird of Peru. Now back at the hotel, felling pretty knackered - but happy I managed some hiking. Maybe I could have managed the INca trail after all 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



28th August 2012

Hi Babe
Just caught up with your super duper trip! So sad not to have been able to come along, but I think it was a good thing as I think I would not have been able to cope with the altitude all things considered. So sorry Laki to hear your sad news.... Hope the Inca trail was breath taking and you were warm enough and could have a good old wee! Looking forward to seeing all your photos! Hx

Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb