back in the san francisco community


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ucayali » Pucallpa
September 26th 2006
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

alberto painting - a great artistalberto painting - a great artistalberto painting - a great artist

painting with acryl on linen his beautiful motives are traditional shipibo-patterns combined with his own visions and the plant-world...
One month had passed in the community of Hunin Pablo with Daniel and his family after I returned back to Pucallpa. I went back to the San Francisco-community to visit another family I knew briefly from my time I passed there a month before...
Alberto and Elisa are a very special Shipibo-couple. Elisa is one of the very few female curanderos working with the power-plants and Alberto is an amazing artist, embodying traditional shipibo-patterns together with his own visions and knowledge of the plant-world in beautiful paintings...
I participated in an ayahuasca-ceremony with them the same evening - an experience that was so intense and powerful like never before and the energy between all of us so good that I finally ended up staying with them for 2 weeks more.
The husband of their daughter Christina - Darwin - is one of the few young Shipibos interested in the knowledge of the plants and of the elders and learning on this path. Guided by his 80 year old grandfather - a mastershaman named Eusebius - he is with his 22 years already very far and wise. We became good friends and we made a journey together to visit his old grandfather in another community at the Ucayali, about 13 hours away from Pucallpa. So I passed another intense week in another rivercommunity together with Darwin and his interesting old grandfather who gave me a special plantmixture to purge and purify my body.
After beeing nearly 2 month with the Shipibos, I felt I had to move on and start traveling... But it was not easy to leave. Alberto proposed seriously I should marry a Shipibo-women and stay in San Francisco while Elisa declared me a part of the family. True friends I will certainly visit again! Incredible memories...



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

traveling on the ucayali / amazon rivertraveling on the ucayali / amazon river
traveling on the ucayali / amazon river

... many times with "collectivo-boats". and this one is actually very empty. normally they are incredibly crowded and without a hammock I probably wouldn't have survived this trips...
at a shipibo children birthday-partyat a shipibo children birthday-party
at a shipibo children birthday-party

although they live so simple - they do everything for their children...
earthly mealsearthly meals
earthly meals

although they all have a table, they prefer to sit and eat on the ground...
franko, elisa and miguelfranko, elisa and miguel
franko, elisa and miguel

... on a boatride to pucallpa. this pic was actually taken in nov. 06, when I returned for a very short stay before going to lima...
alberto, elisa & mealberto, elisa & me
alberto, elisa & me

I love them! such incredibly good people...


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 89; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb