living and learning with the shipibos


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ucayali » Pucallpa
September 1st 2006
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

cooking ayahuascacooking ayahuascacooking ayahuasca

all the ingredients where freshly collected in the jungle...
After my friends went back home to Switzerland I decided to stay in the world of the Shipibos and to explore a little more. Together with curandero Daniel Arevalo, who had been with us during the last 12 days in San Francisco, I took a 17 hours boatride to the community where he lives with his huge family - Hunin Pablo.
Unlike San Francisco the community Hunin Pablo is a pure rivercommunity, only accessable per boat. His family welcomed me openly and soon I lived in midst of them. In a house without walls, only a wooden floor and palmtree-roof, I had my sleeping place in a hammock sourrounded by the family-members sleeping around me under their mosquito-nets... No fluent water, no electricity... Bathing everyday in the river...
I continued the special diet without sugar, fat and salt and taking various plants given to me by Daniel. In 4 weeks Daniel conducted 14 nightly ayahuasca-ceremonies, in some of them I could witness how he was making healingwork on family-members or people of the community that came with various physical problems... Amazingly interesting for me!
Apart from this profound ceremonial experiences it was a great gift to live in midst of this
daniel collecting chacrunadaniel collecting chacrunadaniel collecting chacruna

the vision-giving part of the sacred ayahuasca-brew
people far away from civilization and western luxury, experiencing the communal- and familylife of the Shipibo-people so close. And last but not least I learned a big deal of Spanish there, as this was the only way to communicate!




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

family-lifefamily-life
family-life

daniel's wife Rosa with daughter and grand-children
shipibo-shopshipibo-shop
shipibo-shop

daniel's son franklin with his little shop - proud and happy!
pealing yucapealing yuca
pealing yuca

...together with the platanos/bananas this is the most important food-source. a daily scene in the communities...
football-groundfootball-ground
football-ground

essential in every river-community! the sport they love - evening and weekend entertainment... at sundays I could witness "inter-rivercommunity" competitions, people coming with boats from everywhere to watch the games...
canal between 2 lagunescanal between 2 lagunes
canal between 2 lagunes

I was fortunate to be shown beautiful places that only very few white people ever see...
jungle toiletjungle toilet
jungle toilet

simple but it works!
receiving presentsreceiving presents
receiving presents

... at the end of the month - such a touching ceremonial they made!


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb