Back to Kiting


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Piura » Máncora
November 16th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up today around 930 and decided I needed some funds so I hit up the Bank and recieved some funds I was transfered...now I can sit pretty the rest of my time in Máncora!

I went to pick up the Canadians around 1130, the plan was to visit the local market...Raya needed a bra and everyone could get super cheap stuff there. Braeden had a terrible night...he´s still sick...so we decided to skip the market and head to the birdhouse for breakfast/lunch. I had the buffalo wings, a salad with pulled chicken with a delicious honey mustard dressing, and a hurricane!

After lunch they decided to head to the market while I was just going to lay on the beach. I ran into some girls we met in Montañita so I invited them to join me on the beach when they were done running errands. I popped into Peru Kite to get the email for Jose so I could finally pay for the kite I busted a few days ago. Rein gave me the email address and I just used his computer to make the payment. After I asked about riding and he offered to let me use his own personal gear to ride today...and the rest of my stay in Máncora. He said what happened the other day was a fluke and he wanted me to have a great beginning experience with kiteboarding...so he gave me his stuff and assigned Alex to supervise me and I was off!

Wow, I had some good riding today. I started off a little hesitant from the whole fiasco last time so I was pretty cautious about where the kite was and how far I was from the beach. After a solid run, Alex joined me at the bottom of the beach and carried/ran my kite back for me. I did a second run and was up for quite a bit, about 10-20 seconds per ride. Alex met me again at the end of the beach and this time rode my kite upwind where I met him at the top. Rein saw me and commented on what I was doing and how to do it better. Because the wind wasn´t as strong as it was a few days earlier, I had to change my start and pump the kite faster...I took his advice and was up and running like a champ!

After about an hour and half, I was beat and was done...but Rein talked me into another run, so I did it...this one was awesome! I hopped a wave while riding, rode for a solid 20 seconds, actually leaned back in my harness and felt the kite hold me up, and had great control of the kite...stellar! After Alex walked my kite back again, Rein said I needed one more go and gave me a few tricks to stay up and riding...I started at one end of the beach and rode all the way down to the other end without falling!! YEEE HAAAW. I am hooked.

The wind started dying down so we called it a day. He said tomorrow he´s going to give me a larger kite with a little ooomf in it to help me stay up without pumping so much. I´m so excited...I´m finally a kiteboarder!

After kiting I found the Canucks on the beach and we hit up the birdhouse for a snack. Braeden wasn´t feeling so hot so he just hung out. Raya ordered buffalo wings, I ordered the italian sub, and we both ordered the Exon Valdez (an milkshake of baileys, coffee, ice cream, and vodka)...it was DELICIOUS!! My sub came and it was on some little crappy roll...not the bread I was expecting from my previous visits...they said they ran out...suckas. I ate half my sandwich and then we all returned to the hostel for showers and some rest for a few hours.

Around 9pm we headed out to get some food...most of the places were closed so we ended up going to Rudy´s place. Raya wasn´t eating and Braeden needed something bland and simple...I ordered Cordon Blue and Braeden ordered spaghetti with vegetables. The waitress said something else, I pointed at the Cordon Blue and said it again, she said OK. 10 minutes later Rudy came out and asked how I wanted the loin cooked, I told him I ordered the Cordon Blue and I guess the waitress placed the wrong order. So I told him to just bring out Braeden´s spaghetti and Raya´s garlic bread and I´d just eat when the Cordon Blue was done. Needless to say, I got cordon blue...not what I was expecting though. I was expecting chicken cordon blue, but I got cordon blue with loin strips...interesting. Two portions were on the plate, way more than I could eat. I had one and then gave the other to one of the little scraggly dogs outside...the one that frequents Rudy´s place.

After dinner we headed to the surf bar for drinks. Braeden was still on his antibiotics so he couldn´t drink, so it was Raya and I drinking while he watched and hung out. I had sex on the beaches all night and a red bull at some point. I asked Naobi about streaking the Pan-American...she told Himey what my plans were and he told her the locals wouldn´t like that much and I could get beat up...def don´t want that to happen! Around 1 they closed and the three of us headed back. There was nobody on the road so I decided it was safe to run in my birthday suit on the Pan-American highway. I got dressed on the road to the beach and headed back to the hostel.

I said goodnight to the Canadians and then headed to my room. I got undressed, grabbed my towel and headed to take a dip in the Pacific. The water was nice. On my run out of the water I caught a rock with my left foot and it hurt!...not too bad though. I dried off and headed back to my room. While taking my contacts out in the bathroom I noticed blood on the floor and then looked down at my foot...the top layer of skin on my big toe was torn off and I was bleeding all over the place. I pulled out the first aid kit, ripped off the extra skin, cleaned it off, and put a bandaid on it. There was another spot on my toe that looked like a blood blister...nothing too serious. About 10 min after going to bed I got sick and purged over the railing onto the hallway below...pretty gross...but it was good to get rid of all that poison! What a long day...time for bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb