My Strange Exotic Love Affair with Iquitos continues............


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto
October 13th 2013
Published: October 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hola Mi Amigos y Amigas!

Well here I am again, in Iquitos, Peru, the largest, wildest, most chaotic and wonderful inland port in the world, accessible only by boat or plane. Flying in to this place is stunning, seeing the Amazon river snaking through the jungle landscape like a giant cosmic serpent, feeling the blast of 90+ % humidity and the smell of an environment which a combination of jungle and airplane fuel hit you when you get off the plane!

I have spent over 3.5 years out of the last 8 here to study the wisdom of plant medicine with some amazing Maestros here and it is just so good to be back in this place. People here remember everything which ever happened down to the tiniest details and my driver, my porters, the people at the Maranon hotel I stay at.......everything is as though I've never left and it just feels so good, my heart is overflowing. I recommend anyone who loves the plants and bizarre anthropology come to Iquitos at least once in their lives. There is simply nothing quite like it. Exotic, where human spirits are birthed from the womb of the earth in the most gorgeous natural environment coupled with a sometimes reverant, always feral, dirty, sleazily sexy but full of human heart demographic. Nowhere else on earth like my Iquitos!

This time being here is particularly poignant for me as it is only the second time I have come and not been visiting Blue Morpho where my apprenticeship in plant medicine so gloriously took place under the Maestro's Don Alberto Torres Davila and Hamilton Souther. This time I am here independently and it feels as though the universe is blessing my every step of this journey. My dear friend, medicine woman, and student Robin Alexandra is here also, staying with another dear medicine woman friend of mine, Claire Mataira who has a gorgeous maloca in Padre Cocha, a boat ride on the river from Iquitos. I will post pictures of this place soon.

I am in my beloved and comfy Hotel Maranon in the room by the pool where I have been coming to stay for years. I just had a huge amount of dental work done in Lima a few days ago so I am laying low but its Saturday night in Iquitos and the town, the nightclubs, the boulevard are hopping, teeming with energy and excitement, native dancers, artenesia, hungry eyes and lights, dance and beer. Saturday night is a Big deal here. I am skipping the madness and choose rather to relax and enjoy my blog after a dip in the pool and a delicious meal of pureed Zapallo (sapahjo) with onions and garlic which I went into the hotel kitchen to make myself since the chef didn't know how to do it! I feel like I am with my family here. I am with my family here. Everyone is family here, albeit sometimes dysfunctional!!!

Tomorrow I shall go to Padre Cocha to have dinner with Claire (Clarita) and Robin (Robinita) and visit the family who cared for me here when I was so ill here a couple of years ago. I have come laden with headlights, led lights, computers, goodies for my favorite people here and it pleases me no end to see their delight when gifted with things which make their worlds such a better place, just as their care of me has made my life such a better place!

Robinita and I will be heading to Tarapoto in a few days to embark on yet another teacher plant dieta with another Maestro whom I respect tremendously. The Maestras, Las Plantas medicinales call us again. This will be my 26th dieta with the plants. I simply cannot get enough of their wisdom in connecting me to a heart lead life and the intuitive wisdom innate in this universe. I shall check on on this blog when I can but during the time we are in Tarapoto, we are strictly forbidden to use any media whatsoever as this is a time to really connect to the innate wisdom of life without the synthetic elements of outside information.

Sending the love of the jungle to you dear ones, thanks for reading, this is going to be so much fun. Blessings to all x

Advertisement



13th October 2013

super. and you do it soo well.
16th October 2013

Thanks Case
Nice to know you are still somewhere out there peeking in. I always feel you and probably always will. For some reason our spirits just have a connection. Bless you and yours dear heart.
13th October 2013

So impressed and happy to read your story. I love your spirit. Have a wonderful time.
16th October 2013

takes one to know one Shannon!
so glad to hear from you lovely! After leaving you 3 messages and not hearing from you I was concerned so this is a relief before I go to the jungle for 2 weeks. Love and success to you Mama!
13th October 2013

sounds magical!
can't wait to hear all about your journey <3 maybe one day i will visit this spot
16th October 2013

Hola Gilly
Sweetheart, I do so hope you do, I am sure, being the world traveller you are that you would get such a wonderful addition to your already stunning experiences. much love x
13th October 2013

Hi Kellee, I wondered where you are training? Will you be there next winter (Juneish) ? Have a great time Andy xx
14th October 2013

Iquitos
I love the rainforest and looked into doing a trip to Iquitos 7 years ago with Amazonia......Tahauyo lodge. My marriage was falling apart about then and it never happened, but I've always had the desire to make it happen. Maybe one day!!
16th October 2013

Hi Jesse love
many thanks again for your most generous support of my trip. WHEN you decide to go, please contact me and I will totally hook you up. This is the trip of a lifetime to be sure. love love love to you <3

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb