My new home...Kokopelli


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
March 30th 2010
Published: March 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The last time I wrote I was heading for my flight to Peru. What an experience...yet another situation where I would felt far more relaxed had I spoke Spanish. I had ABSOLUTELY no idea what was going on. My taxi driver collected me promptly at 3.00am and dropped me off outside a gazebo and pointed. I got a trolley for my backpack and made my way over.

Then came my first hurdle...everyone was heading over to this man at the other side of the gazebo and speaking to him. So I wandered over hoping that he would just let me wander through if I made it look like I knew what I was doing. No such luck. He mumbled something to me in Spanish and I said I didn't speak Spanish. So he mumbled some other words. Still, no idea. Then he said a few words about 4 or 5 and I heard Taca, the name of my airline. I nodded excitedly and said Taca. He told me to go left.

I headed through something similar to a car park, where there were a few stalls with drinks and snacks, until I got to a building. This was also manned so I confidently said 'Taca'. The man said nothing that made any sense to me, but the guy in front of me headed to this room with seats in it. Oh and also the largest stack of suitcases you have ever seen! This amused me for a while...I took a few photos, then a few more from another angle...and then I got bored.

So I took a seat, but it wasn't long before I got restless as I didn't know why I was sitting there and whether the other people were there for some other reason. It wasn't long before I could see I was not the only confused one...everyone kept leaving the room and looking at the check-in area, which looked much like an office. A few cheap wooden desks with computers. This made me feel slightly better except for the fact none of the other passengers could understand what I was saying so moved on pretty quickly to find someone that could communicate with them!

Anyway, eventually the airport staff arrived and we got checked in. I managed to find a guy who spoke some English and was fascinated to hear he had been in Concepcion when the earthquake hit...he was on the 12th floor. He spent some time trying to teach me Spanish, but I think he was relieved when our gate was open and he could sit a good few rows away from me!

After a reasonably short flight I arrived in Lima and had got another couple of phone numbers and address from local people who offered to help me out if I needed anything. Thankfully though everything went extremely smoothly. I found my bag and headed out of the airport. I had arranged a transfer to my hostel so was keeping my eyes peeled for a 'Kokopelli' sign. There were so many people with so many signs, I thought I had no hope in hell! The next thing I look over to the ATM and I see a A4 piece of paper with "NICOLA MONK" printed on it...I couldn't help but laugh. I went over and introduced myself and off we went.

I arrived at my hostel and checked in to a clean, but rather stuffy 8-bed dorm and made friends straight away. I couldn't be happier to here a number of English speakers! I made my way down to the cafe for our included breakfast, which was the best free breakfast ever! A fried egg, bacon and toast with some tomato and freshly squeezed pinapple juice to wash it down. I was extremely grateful to be with people who spoke Spanish as I was far to tired to attempt to order myself.

I am writing this a few days late and feel like I have so much more to say, but after 6 hours of Spanish today I cannot be bothered. Peruvian life is not about worrying. So I'm gonna go grab a Cusqueña and I finish this later. To be continued...

Advertisement



31st March 2010

Hey Nicola, I enjoyed your Peru post. It reminded me of my time there. My blog is looking for some good travel photos and hostel reviews. If you have time check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com. By the way, I hope you are staying at the Miraflores house. In my opinion, it is the best hostel in Lima. Continued fun on your travels, Eric
4th April 2010

I Miss You Sinorita!
Nikki, my little darling, I miss you so much! As I dont have facebook to contact you I am pleased I have found you finally! IYour blogs are making me laugh so much you have the gift of writing. I now know why my aunty is so keen on getting you into the family, she also has the same talent with words. I dont know how you are managing it I dont think I could ever cope with the language barrier, your a brave one! I am constantly revising which is poo but my exam timetable is now out so I must crack on! I have just fallen over and bashed all my legs up on the wall outside my house which means I am in agony! I cant wait for you too be home, its so weird seeing your pics on James' blackberry of places you have been and recognising them. To think we have sat in the same places. Wish i was there with you! Miss you loads, I was even tempted to stop by your mum and dads last week just to say hi and share our woes together. Anyway must get back to wallowing in my self pitty and make room for the gigantic bruise that is forming on my calf. Muchos Love Hayley xxxx
25th April 2010

Hayyyyyyyyyyyyy
Hey gorgeous. Thank you so much for the comment. It really made me smile! =) love youuuuuuu lots.xx

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb