We made it to Lima!!!!! beautiful weather!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
January 28th 2009
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

No matter how much I plan for a trip.. I never actually think the day to hop on the airplane will come. I have no idea why I did this but I waited till the very last day to pack my bag. A few years ago, I would plan weeks ahead about exactly what I was going to bring but this trip.. my goodness.. I wasn’t done packing till 11:30 PM the night before. My buckle on my bag broke but I’m a fixerupper genius and somehow solved the problem. But uhh.. definitely had a mini anxiety attack! haha In the morning, I said my goodbyes to Rory =( & my family. I feel since I have been traveling so often, going on a trip isn’t so stressful for my parents anymore. BUT WAIT till Chelsea and I start posting videos weekly about what life is actually like when backpacking! Especially in South America!! Life is so different there. Depending on where we go, we will be living in extreme poverty, going to the bathroom in holes, having live goats on top of our buses, having people sleep under the bus where all our luggage is, taking sketchy taxi rides, driving on extremely dangerous roads with cliffs and no guard rails, and eating crazy crazy food! Then on the other hand, we will be visiting the most beautiful and magical places on earth like the Amazon, Patagonia, Salar de Uyuni, and spending our days away on clean white sandy beaches. Anyways!!! I am getting off topic.. I am just so pumped to be arriving in only 2 hours!!! When I arrived to the airport, Chelsea is wicked sick with a chest cold and looking utterly exhausted! I’m just a hopin that I won’t be getting sick.. eh. Oh well and if I do I’m stocked up on meds. When we were in New York waiting for our plane, Continental overbooked the flight and asked everyone waiting if anyone would be willing to stay an extra night in new york and go to Peru tomorrow. They were offering a free night of sleep, food vouchers, first class ticket to Peru the next day, and $500 dollar voucher!! Oh man.. me and Chelsea never got off our butts so fast. We literally RAN with all our crap to the desk. They told us they would let us know if they need us in an hour. We so got our hopes up.. they called our names over the loud speaker only to tell us that they didn’t need us to do it. I sorta wanted to cry. $500 plane voucher! Augh.. such a let down! But I told Chels that we really can’t be that bummed because we will be in Lima in about 8 hours!!! So now we are on the plane.. editing videos from our going away party and taking little naps. Helloooo to sunny days and 80 degree weather!!!



we made it to Lima!!! we booked our hostel the night before and arranged the hostel to have a taxi pick us up at the airport. when we got there.. our bags literally took forever. last year when chelsea came to visit me, her bags never showed up in lima! so we were wicked paranoid.. but anyways.. the taxi driver had a sign waiting for us and we got in the taxi .. and oh man. did i forget how freaking scary it is to be in a car in south america!!! they drive soooo fast.. everyone is cutting each other off.. i swear we almost got hit about 5 times. haha. no seatbelts either. we made it to the hostel and pretty much crashed. not sure what we will be doing today butttt im hoping to head to the beach!!! chels isnt feeling too good so we'll see!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb